Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 1°C Friday 7 May 2021

Austin Gleeson shown a red card as Davy Fitz's LIT reach Fitzgibbon Cup semi-finals

Gleeson was involved in an off-the-ball incident in the first-half.

Limerick IT's Peter Duggan is challenged by Ger Teehan of Waterford IT.
Limerick IT's Peter Duggan is challenged by Ger Teehan of Waterford IT.
Image: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Limerick IT 0-16
Waterford IT 0-8

WATERFORD STAR AUSTIN Gleeson was given a straight red card as LIT defeated WIT in the Fitzgibbon Cup quarter-final at Moylish in Limerick this afternoon.

The Limerick college, who topped Group A after wins over Maynooth, UCC and UCD, continued their perfect record with Peter Duggan and Diarmaid Byrnes notching five points each.

They advance to the 2016 finals weekend in Cork at the end of the month but the Waterford outfit were left to rue their star player’s dismissal after 28 minutes.

They only trailed 0-8 to 0-5 at half-time but Gleeson was given a straight red for an off-the-ball incident involving opposing wing-back Oisin O’Brien. From there, there was only going to be one winner and last year’s runners-up were fighting an uphill battle.

Clare man Duggan starred in the first-half for LIT and he hit his first in the seventh minute to get them off the mark. The teams were level twice before LIT took a strangehold and they led 0-6 to 0-2 when Byrnes slotted his first free after 21 minutes.

John Dwyer had just reduced the arrears to two when Gleeson received his marching orders from referee Cathal McAllister. WIT kept the deficit to three at half-time but couldn’t control Davy Fitzgerald’s troops in the second-half.

Even though the sides went point-for-point, Mike O’Malley’s 41st-minute effort began the onslaught. Byrnes took his tally to five as LIT hit six in a row and Johnny Hayes’ late free was a consolation for Colm Bonnar and WIT.

Paul Killeen and Willie Hassey Willie Hassey of Waterford IT under pressure from Limerick IT's Paul Killeen. Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Scorers for Limerick IT: Peter Duggan 0-5 (0-3f), Diarmuid Byrnes 0-5 (0-5f), David Dempsey 0-3, Cathal Barrett 0-1, David Reidy 0-1, Michael O’Malley 0-1.

Scorers for Waterford IT: J Hayes 0-2 (0-2f), J Dwyer 0-2 (0-1f), S McNulty 0-2, T Fox 0-1 (0-1f), O McGrath 0-1.


1. Eibhear Quilligan (Feakle, Clare)

2. Niall O’Connor (Newmarket-on-Fergus, Clare)
3. Kieran Bennett (Ballysaggart, Waterford)
4. Cian Nolan (Smith O’Briens,  Clare)

5. William Ryan (Clonakenny, Tipperary)
6. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill, Tipperary)
7. Oisin O’Brien (Clonlara, Clare)

8. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell, Limerick)
9. David Reidy (Éire Óg, Clare)

10. Paul Killeen (Tynagh-Abbey-Duniry, Galway)
11. Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin, Clare)
25. David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick)

13. Jamie Shanahan (Sixmilebridge, Clare)
14. Niall Maher (Doon, Limerick)
15. Michael O’Malley (Kilmaley, Clare)


18. Willie Connors (Kildangan, Tipperary) for Nolan (30 mins)
24. Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick) for Shanahan (31)
20. Shane Gleeson (Cratloe, Clare) for Killeen (27)
17. Jason Ryan (Toomevara, Tipperary) for Bennett (27)
23. Kevin Sweeney (Lisdowney, Kilkenny) for Duggan (59)


1. Mark Fanning (Glynn-Barntown, Wexford)

2. Willie Hahessy (Clonea, Waterford)
3. Ger Teehan (Graigue-Ballycallan, Kilkenny)
4. Jerome Maher (Geraldines, Waterford)

5. Tom Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty, Tipperary)
6. Shane McNulty (De La Salle, Waterford)
7. Craig Guiry (Fourmilewater, Waterford)

8. Jack Langton (Clara, Kilkenny)
21. Joe O’Dwyer (Killenaule, Tipperary)

10. Owen McGrath (John Lockes, Kilkenny)
11. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion, Waterford)
12. Johnny Hayes (Kilmacow, Kilkenny)

28. Eoin Ryan (Coolderry, Offaly)
14. Shane Ryan (Fouremilewater, Waterford)
15. Ciaran O’Brien (St Ita’s, Cork)


13. Mark Lynch (Tulla, Clare) for Ryan (32)
24. John Doyle (St Patrick’s, Wexford) for Guiry (43)
18. John Henderson (Fenians, Kilkenny) for O’Brien (49)
30. Jerry Lane (Newtownshandrum, Cork) for Dwyer (56)

Referee: Cathal McAllister (Cork).

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!


‘I wouldn’t have a problem with the blood testing, it’s the time which can be frustrating’

‘The B championship would be an absolute disaster for whatever counties are involved’

About the author:

Daragh Small

Read next: