Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 12°C Monday 14 June 2021

Division 2 FL: Louth too strong for Galway

The Wee County faced the Tribesmen in a re-arranged game in Drogheda this afternoon.

Louth's Sean O'Brien tackles Sean Armstrong of Galway.
Louth's Sean O'Brien tackles Sean Armstrong of Galway.
Image: ©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan

Louth 0-17
Galway 0-11

LOUTH PICKED UP their first victory in the Allianz FL Division 2 clash against Galway in Drogheda this afternoon.

The game was originally pencilled in for a fortnight ago but was postponed due to a waterlogged pitch.

Louth wer chasing their first points of the campaign in this game after losing out to Westmeath in their opener while Galway had defeated Derry in their opening clash in early February.

Louth made the early running in this game with Shane Lennon helping them lead by 0-6 to 0-2 at one juncture.

But Galway fought back and late points by Micheal Meehan and Sean Armstrong capped their comeback as they regained parity by the midway mark when it stood at 0-8 apiece.

However Louth opened brightly in the second-half with Brian White to the fore in the scoring stakes and when Shane Lennon clipped over a free, they lead by 0-12 to 0-9 by the 50th minute.

Galway responded with Danny Cummins raising a white flag but Louth replied quickly with White (2) and Paddy Keenan registering point to stretch their lead to five with eight minutes remaining.

Substitute Derek Maguire made a notable impression as he grabbed a brace of points and a late Micheal Meehan free for Galway proved only a consolation effort as Aidan O’Rourke’s team ran out winners.

Scorers for Louth: Brian White 0-5 (0-1f, 0-1 ’45), Shane Lennon 0-3 (0-2f), Paddy Keenan, Derek Maguire 0-2 each, Paraic Smith, Andy McDonnell, Adrian Reid, Mark Brennan, Ciaran Byrne 0-1 each.
Scorers for Galway: Sean Armstrong, Micheal Meehan 0-3 (0-2f) each, Niall Coleman Eoin Concannon, Danny Cummins Michael Martin, Sean Denvir 0-1 each.

LOUTH: Neil Gallagher (Cooley Kickhams); John O’Brien (Sean O’Mahony’s), Dessie Finnegan (St Patrick’s), Gerard Hoey (Geraldine’s); Conor McGuinness (Cooley Kickhams), Derek Crilly (Dundalk Gaels), Adrian Reid (Mattock Rangers); Paddy Keenan (St Patrick’s), Mick Fanning (St Martin’s); Andy McDonnell (Newtown Blues), Mark Brennan (St Sylvester’s), Brian White (Cooley Kickhams); Kevin Rogers (St Malachy’s), Shane Lennon (Kilkerley Emmetts), Paraic Smith (Dreadnots).

Subs: Brian Donnelly (Cooley Kickhams) for Fanning, Ciaran Byrne (St Mochta’s) for Rogers, Derek Maguire (Dundalk Young Ireland’s) for Smith, Ronan Carroll (St Mary’s) for Lennon.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

GALWAY: Manus Breathnach (An Spidéal); Joss Moore (Mountbellew-Moylough), Finian Hanley (Salthill-Knocknacarra), Johnny Duane (St James); Cathal Sweeney (Killanin), Gary Sice (Corofin), Gary Sweeney (Mountbellew-Moylough); Niall Coleman (Annaghdown), Paul Conroy (St James); Eoin Concannon (St James), Michael Martin (Milltown), Sean Denvir (Michéal Breathnach’s); Sean Armstrong (Salthill-Knocknacarra), Micheal Meehan (Caltra), Danny Cummins (Claregalway).

Subs: Conor Costello (Claregalway) for Cathal Sweeney, Fiontain O Curraoin (Micheal Breathnach’s) for Martin

Referee: Derek Fahy (Longford)

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: