Dublin: 20°C Monday 15 August 2022

Mayo name unchanged team for historic quarter-final clash with their provincial rivals

Stephen Rochford’s side last met Roscommon in a provincial championship clash back in 2014.

Image: Cathal Noonan ; ©INPHO/Cathal Noonan/INPHO

MAYO HAVE DECIDED to stick with the tried and tested ahead of their historic All-Ireland quarter-final clash with provincial rivals Roscommon this weekend.

The sides meet in a championship game outside of Connacht for the very first time on Sunday and Mayo boss Stephen Rochford has decided against making any changes and has named an unchanged team from the victory over Cork last weekend.

It was a provincial semi-final in 2014 when the teams last faced each other in a senior football championship setting.

On that occasion, it was Mayo who sneaked the win by the slenderest of margins.

Mayo team to play Roscommon

1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)

2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
3. Ger Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites)
4. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)

5. Lee Keegan (Westport)
6. Chris Barrett (Belmulet)
7. Colm Boyle (Davitts)

8. Seamus O’Shea (Breaffy)
9. Tom Parsons (Charlestown)

See Sport

Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership

Become a Member

10. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
11. Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy)
12. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber)

13. Conor Loftus (Crossmolina)
14. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber, captain)
15. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Buckley and Barry return to Kerry team for All-Ireland quarter-final meeting with Galway

Kildare skipper Doyle ruled out of Armagh quarter-final clash as Geezer tweaks his attack

About the author:

Eoin O'Callaghan

Read next: