This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Tuesday 26 March, 2019

Varley gets the nod in Mayo attack

The Garrymore man comes into the Mayo side in place of injured captain Andy Moran.

Enda Varley: the only change in Mayo's team to face Dublin.
Enda Varley: the only change in Mayo's team to face Dublin.
Image: ©INPHO/James Crombie

ENDA VARLEY HAS been handed the unenviable task of replacing captain Andy Moran in the Mayo team to face Dublin.

With Moran likely to miss the rest of the championship with a knee injury, James Horan makes just one enforced personnel change for Sunday’s All-Ireland semi-final in Croke Park.

Varley, who scored when coming off the bench in the quarter-final win against Down, is named at corner-forward alongside Cillian O’Connor and Michael Conroy.

Jason Doherty drops back to centre-forward, flanked by Kevin McLoughlin and Alan Dillon. Ballina Stephenites’ David Clarke captains the side in Moran’s absence.

Dublin make two changes to the side which struggled past Laois last time out. Footballer of the Year Alan Brogan, who missed the quarter-final through injury, returns in place of Eoghan O’Gara while Ger Brennan is preferred to Philly McMahon in defence.

Mayo (SFC v Dublin): David Clarke (c); Kevin Keane, Ger Cafferkey, Keith Higgins; Lee Keegan, Donal Vaughan, Colm Boyle; Barry Moran, Aidan O’Shea; Kevin McLoughlin, Jason Doherty, Alan Dillon; Enda Varley, Cillian O’Connor, Michael Conroy.

Alan Brogan returns to Dublin side to face Mayo

O’Carroll focused on football after French adventure

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: