Skip to content

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Aidan O'Shea.
Aidan O'Shea.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Keegan out but Aidan O'Shea named to start for Mayo against Galway

Elsewhere, Cilian O’Connor returns to the starting line-up.
Jul 5th 2019, 6:58 PM 13,375 20

MAYO HAVE MADE four changes from last week’s win over Armagh for tomorrow evening’s round four qualifier against Galway, with Lee Keegan’s expected absence confirmed. 

Keegan limped off before half-time of that win in Castlebar, and he is replaced by Ballintubber’s Michael Plunkett. His is the latest injury to plague James Horan’s side, who are already deprived of captain Diarmuid O’Connor and midfielders Seamus O’Shea, Tom Parsons and Matthew Ruane. 

Elsewhere, Cillian O’Connor makes his first start of the year having come off the bench last weekend, with Kevin McLoughlin and Stephen Coen included in the starting XV. 

Andy Moran – substituted before half-time against Armagh – loses out, as do Conor Loftus and Mikey Murray. 

There had been doubt over Aidan O’Shea’s fitness, but he has nonetheless been named to start at midfield. 

Mayo have endured a miserable record against their Western rivals of late, and are currently amidst a seven-game losing streak to Galway. This is the first time since 1999, however, the sides have met in the Championship knowing that the loser has no further safety net.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

The winner progresses to the Super 8s stage; the loser goes home. 

The game is slated for 7pm on Saturday evening at the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick and is live on Sky Sports.

MAYO (v Galway)

1. David Clarke – Ballina Stephenites
2. Chris Barrett – Belmullet
3. Brendan Harrison – Aghamore
4. Keith Higgins – Ballyhaunis
5. Patrick Durcan – Castlebar Mitchels(C)
6. Colm Boyle – Davitts
7. Michael Plunkett – Ballintubber
8. Stephen Coen – Hollymount/Carramore
9. Aidan O’Shea – Breaffy
10. Fionn McDonagh – Westport
11. Jason Doherty – Burrishoole
12. Ciaran Treacy – Ballina Stephenites
13. Cillian O’Connor – Ballintubber
14. Darren Coen – Hollymount/Carramore
15. Kevin McLoughlin – Knockmore

Send a tip to the author

Gavin Cooney


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a comment

    cancel reply
    Back to top