Skip to content

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Meath manager Andy McEntee.
Meath manager Andy McEntee.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Dublin and Meath show their hand ahead of their Leinster final showdown

Croke Park hosts tonight’s game at 7pm.
Nov 21st 2020, 6:06 AM 17,019 5

Updated Nov 21st 2020, 11:48 AM

DUBLIN AND MEATH HAVE named their teams for their Leinster SFC final showdown this evening at Croke Park [throw-in, 7pm].

Dessie Farrell’s side, who are aiming to complete a provincial 10-in-a-row this weekend, are sticking with the same side who started in their victory over Laois which booked their place in the decider.

Stephen Cluxton takes up his usual position between the sticks, while Jonny Cooper has been named to start at full-back again.

James McCarthy and John Small bring plenty of power and experience to the half-back line with Brian Fenton linking up alongside Tom Lahiff.

Ciarán Kilkenny has been named to start at centre-half forward while Paddy Small, Con O’Callaghan and Dean Rock complete the inside forward line.

Meanwhile, Andy McEntee has announced the same Meath team that defeated Kildare in last weekend’s Leinster semi-final for tonight’s final with Dublin.

McEntee’s charges enter the game after scoring five goals against Kildare in their semi-final success and previously hitting home seven goals in their quarter-final with Wicklow.

The team selection means Joey Wallace and Jason Scully who both netted when introdcued last Sunday, are named on the bench once more.

Meath are bidding to land a first Leinster senior crown since 2010. When the counties met in last year’s final, Dublin ran out convincing winners by 1-17 to 0-4.

Throw-in at Croke Park for tonight’s game is 7pm.


1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)

2. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
3. Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna)
4. Eoin Murchan (Na Fianna)

5. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
6. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
7. Robbie McDaid (Ballyboden St Endas)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. Tom Lahiff (St Jude’s)

10. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge Street)
11. Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock)
12. Sean Bugler (St Oliver Plunkett’s/ER)

13. Paddy Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
14. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
15. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)


1. Mark Brennan (O Mahonys)

2. Seamus Lavin (St Peter’s Dunboyne)
3. Conor McGill (Ratoath)
4. David Toner (Curraha)

5. Donal Keogan (Rathkenny – joint captain) 
6. Shane McEntee (St Peter’s Dunboyne)
7. Matthew Costello (Dunshaughlin)

8. Bryan Menton (Donaghmore Ashbourne – joint captain)
9. Ronan Jones (St Peter’s Dunboyne)

10. Cillian O’Sullivan (Moynalvey)
11. Bryan McMahon (Ratoath)
12. Ronan Ryan (Summerhill)

13. Jordan Morris (Nobber)
14. Shane Walsh (Na Fianna)
15. Thomas O’Reilly (Wolfe Tones)


16. Andrew Colgan (Donaghmore-Ashbourne)
17. Eamon Wallace (Ratoath)
18. Cathal Hickey (Seneschalstown)
19. Eoin Harkin (Dunsany)
20. Brian Conlon (Simonstown Gaels)
21. Ethan Devine (Na Fianna)
22. Joey Wallace (Ratoath)
23. Jason Scully (Oldcastle)
24. James Conlon (St Colmcille’s)
25. Donal Lenihan (St Peter’s Dunboyne)
26. Darragh Campion (Skryne)


Subscribe to The42′s new member-led GAA Championship show with Marc Ó Sé and Shane Dowling. 

Send a tip to the author

Fintan O'Toole


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a comment

    cancel reply
    Back to top