Skip to content
Joey Wallace has been named in the Meath side for the first time.
Joey Wallace has been named in the Meath side for the first time.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Meath name 6 debutants in their side to face Wicklow on Sunday

Injuries to a host of key players means Mick O’Dowd has named an inexperienced side.
Jun 12th 2015, 1:26 PM 3,602 6

MICK O’DOWD HAS placed the faith in six newcomers as Meath get their Leinster championship campaign on the road against Wicklow this weekend.

James McEntee, David Dalton, Nicky Judge and Brian Power all make their first championship starts in a youthful back-line while midfielder Harry Rooney and corner-forward Joey Wallace will also make their championship bow.

O’Dowd’s hand was forced into turning towards youth following the array of injuries that has hindered his team selection. Kevin Reilly, Conor Gillespie, Conor McGill, Bryan Menton, Mickey Newman and Shane O’Rourke are all sidelined for the Royals, meaning there are only seven survivors from the side that started last year’s qualifier against Armagh.

There’s no place for livewire attacker Eamon Wallace however. The corner-forward suffered a cruciate ligament injury last March and he will start from the bench on Sunday.

23-year-old Rathkenny defender Donal Keogan will captain the side from centre-back. Throw-in at Páirc Tailteann is at 3.30 pm on Sunday.

Meath team

1. Patrick O’Rourke

2. James McEntee

3. Donncha Tobin

4. David Dalton

5. Nicky Judge

6. Donal Keogan

7. Brian Power

8. Harry Rooney

9. Adam Flanagan

10. Graham Reilly

11. Padraic Harnan

12. Andrew Tormey

13. Joseph Wallace

14. Stephen Bray

15. Bryan McMahon

No place for Paul Kingston as Ó Flatharta names unchanged Laois side for Kildare replay

O’Connor passed fit as Mayo name strong side for meeting with Galway

Send a tip to the author

Patrick Ward


    Back to top