Skip to content

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member

Monaghan unchanged for Croker clash against Down

Malachy O’Rourke is sticking with the same XV that defeated Carlow for Saturday’s All-Ireland Round 4B qualifier.
Jul 28th 2017, 9:51 PM 3,036 9

Malachy O'Rourke Monaghan manager Malachy O'Rourke. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

MONAGHAN HAVE NAMED an unchanged team for tomorrow’s All-Ireland Round 4B qualifier at Croke Park.

Having survived a scare against Carlow earlier this month, Malachy O’Rourke sticks with the XV that earned a 1-12 to 1-7 victory at Cullen Park.

Beaten Ulster finalists Down got the better of Monaghan when they faced off back in June. After losing out to Tyrone last time out, they have brought Peter Turley into midfield, with Kevin McKernan moving further forward and Joe Murphy dropping out.


1. Rory Beggan (An Bhoth)

2. Fintan Kelly (Cluain Eois)
3. Drew Wylie (Béal Átha Beithe)
4. Ryan Wylie(Béal Átha Beithe)

5. Colin Walshe (Dubhamlacht)
6. Neil Mc Adam (Na Cláirsigh Mhuineacháin)
7. Karl O’Connell (Tigh Thalainn)

8. Kieran Hughes (An Bhoth)
9. Darren Hughes (An Bhoth)

10. Gavin Doogan (Machaire Cluain)
11. Dermot Malone (Fág An Bealach)
12. Shane Carey (An Bhoth)

13. Owen Duffy (Leachtain)
14. Jack Mc Carron (Curraichín)
15. Conor Mc Manus (Cluain Tiobraid)


16. Conor Forde (An Bhoth)
17. Kieran Duffy (Leachtain)
18. James Mealiff (Cluain Eois)
19. Brian Greenan (Cluain Tiobraid)
20. Vinny Corey (Cluain Tiobraid)
21. Dessie Mone (Cluain Tiobraid)
22. Dessie Ward (Béal Átha Beithe)
23. Ryan Mc Anespie (Scairbh na gCaorach)
24. Thomas Kerr (Béal Átha Beithe)
25. Conor Mc Carthy (An Bhoth)
26. Darren Freeman (Naomh Bríd, BÁC)


1. Michael Cunningham (Caislean an Mhuillin)

2. Niall McParland (An Ghleann)
3. Gearard McGovern (Boireann)
4. Darren O’Hagan (Cluain Daimh)

5. Darragh O’Hanlon (Cill Chua)
6. Conaill McGovern (Boireann)
7. Caolan Mooney (Caislean Ruairi)

8. Peter Turley (Downpatrick)
9. Niall Donnelly (Tulach Lis)

10. Kevin McKernan (Burren)
11. Conor Maginn (Ath Bhriain)
12. Shay Millar (An Ghleann)

13. Jerome Johnston (Cill Chua)
14. Connaire Harrison (Glas Droimmain)
15. Ryan Johnston (Cill Chua)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Buckley and Barry return to Kerry team for All-Ireland quarter-final meeting with Galway

Your essential guide to the weekend’s GAA football championship action

Send a tip to the author

Ben Blake


    Back to top