This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Thursday 23 January, 2020

Monaghan win first Ulster U21 in 17 years to set up All-Ireland tie against Kerry or Cork

A two-point win for Monaghan tonight against Tyrone.

Monaghan 0-13
Tyrone 0-11

MONAGHAN MADE A major breakthrough tonight when they won the EirGrid Ulster U21 football title for the first time since 1999 with victory over Tyrone at the Athletic Grounds.

Niall Loughman and Niall Rooney with Shea Hamill Monaghan's Niall Loughman and Niall Rooney with Tyrone's Shea Hamill Source: Presseye/Jonathan Porter/INPHO

In the process Monaghan set up an All-Ireland semi-final clash on 16 April with the winners of tomorrow’s Munster decider between Kerry and Cork.

Monaghan made a decisive burst after half-time to clinch victory tonight and end their 17-year wait for a title at this level.

En route to this decider Monaghan had defeated Fermanagh by 12 points and Armagh by 13 points but they stepped up to test provided by Tyrone who contained members of last year’s team that triumphed on the Ulster and All-Ireland stages.

After a tight opening quarter Monaghan edged ahead 0-4 to 0-3 thanks to a Conor McCarthy point but then Tyrone enjoyed their best spell of the game, spearheaded by the scoring brilliance of Lee Brennan.

Donal Meegan with Cathal MacShane Monaghan's Donal Meegan with Tyrone's Cathal MacShane Source: Presseye/Jonathan Porter/INPHO

The Trillick man’s point kicking propelled Tyrone into a 0-6 to 0-4 advantage yet Monaghan drew level thanks to points from Aaron Lynch and man-of-the-match Barry McGinn.

At the interval it was Tyrone who possessed a slender advantage, 0-7 to 0-6, with Brennan knocking over a free before half-time.

However Monaghan exploded from the blocks at the start of the second-half with McGinn (2) and McCarthy holding their nerve to ensure their side kicked over three frees in succession.

Cillian McCann grabbed Tyrone’s first point of the second-half in the 35th minute yet this did not halt Monaghan’s charge as McCarthy and Barry Kerr pushed them 0-11 to 0-8 clear.

Mark Kavanagh cut the defict that Tyrone faced to two in the 38th minute before there was a scoring drought during a tight and tense finale. McGinn gave Monaghan some breathing space with his 51st minute point stretching the gap to three before Tyrone came with a late charge to try to retain their title.

Cathal McShane and David Mulgrew raised white flags for Tyrone as Monaghan clung to a single point advantage but the Red Hands could not draw level.

Substitute Adam Treanor stepped up for Monaghan in injury-time to notch the insurance point as the Farney men celebrated a major win.

Ryan McAnespie with Sean Fox Monaghan's Ryan McAnespie with Tyrone's Sean Fox Source: Presseye/Jonathan Porter/INPHO

Scorers for Monaghan: Barry McGinn 0-6 (0-4f), Conor McCarthy 0-3 (0-1f), Fearghal McMahon, Aaron Lynch, Barry Kerr, Adam Treanor 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tyrone: Lee Brennan 0-5 (0-2f, 0-1 sideline), Cathal McShane 0-2, Shea Hamill, Cillian McCann, Mark Kavanagh, David Mulgrew 0-1 each.


1. Conor Forde (Scotstown)

2. Barry Kerr (Cremartin)
3. Mikey Murnaghan (Donaghmoyne)
4. Kevin Loughran (Monaghan Harps – captain)

5. Dessie Ward (Ballybay)
6. James Mealiff (Clones)
7. Niall Rooney (Truagh Gaels)

8. Niall Loughman (Carrickmacross)
9. Aaron Lynch (Carrickmacross)

10. Ryan McAnespie (Emyvale)
11. Barry McGinn (Doohamlet)
12. Donal Meegan (Inniskeen)

13. Michael O’Dowd (Clontibret)
14. Conor McCarthy (Scotstown)
15. Fearghal McMahon (Monaghan Harps)

20. Aodh Curran (Clontibret) for Loughran (black card) (29)
17. Francis Maguire (Scotstown) for O’Dowd (42)
18. Barry McBennett (Doohamlet) for McMahon (47)
19. Adam Treanor (Truagh Gaels) for Lynch (60)


1. Sean Fox (Killyclogher)

2. Cillian McCann (Fintona)
3. Michael McKernan (Coalisland)
4. Shea Hamill (Donaghmore)

5. Colm Byrne (Eglish)
6. Frank Burns (Pomeroy – captain)
7. Michael O’Neill (Ardboe)

8. Cathal McShane (Eoghan Roe O’Neill’s)
9. Sean Loughran (Carrickmore)

10. Michael Flanagan (Omagh)
11. Mark Kavanagh (Errigal Ciaran)
12. David Mulgrew (Ardboe)

13. Lee Brennan (Trillick)
14. Ryan Coleman (Moy)
15. Sean Fox (Greencastle)

21. Daire Gallagher (Trillick) for Coleman (half-time)
17. Stephen O’Donnell (Trillick) for McCann (41)

Referee: Niall Cullen (Fermanagh)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Super subs strike goals for Limerick to see off Clare in Munster minor hurling clash

Strong start by Cork as they defeat Waterford in Munster minor hurling opener

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next: