Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: -2°C Sunday 11 April 2021

O'Donnell and Ryan back in Munster XV for massive Glasgow clash

James Cronin returns too, but only to the bench.

IRELAND INTERNATIONALS Tommy O’Donnell and Donnacha Ryan have come straight back into Munster’s starting team for tomorrow’s huge Guinness Pro12 clash with Glasgow Warriors [KO 7.35pm, Sky Sports].

Donnacha Ryan Ryan [left] is back in the Munster XV. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

O’Donnell and Ryan were released from Joe Schmidt’s Ireland camp for the weekend, as was James Cronin, who is named on the Munster bench for the trip to face the Warriors at Kilmarnock’s Rugby Park.

In total, Anthony Foley had made five changes after last weekend’s home defeat to the Ospreys, with sixth-place Munster needing a win against the Warriors to keep in touch with the top four, even if they do still have a game in hand.

Niall Scannell comes into the Munster XV at hooker, with Mike Sherry benched, as Tomás O’Leary is preferred to Duncan Williams at scrum-half. The final change sees the promising David Johnston joining fellow academy player Rory Scannell in midfield, taking the place of the injured Francis Saili.

Former Blackrock College and Leinster underage flanker Conor Oliver, now part of Munster’s academy, is set to make his first competitive senior appearance off the bench, while out-half Johnny Holland makes a welcome return from a long-term hamstring injury.

Glasgow, meanwhile, have welcomed Sean Lamont, Gordon Reid, Tim Swinson and Duncan Weir back into their XV from Scotland’s Six Nations camp, while exciting prop Zander Fagerson returns to take a bench spot.


15. Andrew Conway
14. Darren Sweetnam
13. David Johnston
12. Rory Scannell
11. Ronan O’Mahony
10. Ian Keatley
9. Tomás O’Leary

1. Dave Kilcoyne
2. Niall Scannell
3. John Ryan
4. Donnacha Ryan
5. Billy Holland (captain)
6. Jack O’Donoghue
7. Tommy O’Donnell
8. Robin Copeland


16. Mike Sherry
17. James Cronin
18. Mario Sagario
19. Dave Foley
20. Conor Oliver
21. Duncan Williams
22. Johnny Holland
23. Cian Bohane


15. Peter Murchie
14. Taqele Naiyaravoro
13. Glenn Bryce
12. Peter Horne
11. Sean Lamont
10. Duncan Weir
9. Ali Price

1. Gordon Reid
2. James Malcolm
3. Sila Puafisi
4. Tim Swinson
5. Leone Nakarawa
6. Rob Harley
7. Chris Fusaro
8. Josh Strauss (captain)


16. Cammy Fenton
17. Jerry Yanuyanutawa
18. Zander Fagerson
19. Greg Peterson
20. Simone Favaro
21. Grayson Hart
22. Fraser Lyle
23. Rory Hughes

Source: The42 Six Nations Show/SoundCloud

Chris Henry: ‘I hope Joe knows I’ve done a job for him in the past and I’m still there’

England coach Jones preparing for ‘Aussie Rules battle’ with Ireland

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next: