Thursday 26 January 2023 Dublin: 5°C
Morgan Treacy/INPHO Munster Director of Rugby Rassie Erasmus overseeing a training session at UL earlier this week.
# Red Army
Keatley in at full-back as Munster make 5 changes for first Thomond outing
Edinburgh are the opponents as Rassie Erasmus leads the team at the Limerick venue for the first time.

THE MUNSTER TEAM to start against Edinburgh tomorrow at Thomond Park [KO 3.00pm, Sky Sports 3] shows five personnel changes from last weekend’s victory over Newport Gwent Dragons.

This weekend’s game will be a first at the Limerick venue for new Director of Rugby Rassie Erasmus, whose only previous competitive home assignment was a defeat to Cardiff Blues at Musgrave Park a fortnight ago.

Making his first competitive start for Munster, Cian Bohane will form a new centre partnership alongside Keith Earls, who’ll play for the first time this season having been a late withdrawal last Saturday in Wales due to a tight hamstring. They replace Dan Goggin and Colm O’Shea in midfield for the visit of the Scots.

The only other change in the backline sees Ian Keatley get a start at full-back in place of Andrew Conway, who’s unavailable for selection after sustaining a concussion six days ago at Rodney Parade.

Up front, Donnacha Ryan drops down to the bench so captain Billy Holland will move from the back row to the second row. Dave O’Callaghan returns at blinside flanker to fill that vacancy. The other change is in the front row, where Dave Kilcoyne makes his first start of the season at the expense of James Cronin at loosehead prop.


15. Ian Keatley
14. Darren Sweetnam
13. Keith Earls
12. Cian Bohane
11. Ronan O’Mahony
10. Tyler Bleyendaal
9. Conor Murray

1. Dave Kilcoyne
2. Niall Scannell
3. John Ryan
4. Jean Kleyn
5. Billy Holland (captain)
6. Dave O’Callaghan
7. Jack O’Donoghue
8. CJ Stander


16. Duncan Casey
17. James Cronin
18. Stephen Archer
19. Donnacha Ryan
20. Conor Oliver
21. Duncan Williams
22. Dan Goggin
23. Alex Wootton

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member


15. Glenn Bryce
14. Damien Hoyland
13. Michael Allen
12. Chris Dean
11. Tom Brown
10. Duncan Weir
9. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne

1. Rory Sutherland
2. Stuart McInally (captain)
3. Kevin Bryce
4. Fraser McKenzie
5. Ben Toolis
6. Magnus Bradbury
7. Hamish Watson
8. Cornell Du Preez


16. Neil Cochrane
17. Jack Cosgrove
18. Allan Dell
19. Lewis Carmichael
20. John Hardie
21. Sean Kennedy
22. Blair Kinghorn
23. Rory Scholes

Munster’s new €15m training base could have been a deal-breaker for Rassie Erasmus

Take a look inside Munster’s new High Performance Centre at UL

Related Tags