This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Saturday 18 January, 2020

Arnold back from ban, Goggin returns from injury, Grobler and Poland set for debuts

Johann van Graan’s side face Zebre tomorrow evening.

Sam Arnold trained with the Ireland squad recently.
Sam Arnold trained with the Ireland squad recently.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

WITH A HOST of players on international duty for Ireland’s Six Nations clash with Italy, a much-changed Munster team will feature in tomorrow evening’s Guinness Pro14 clash with Zebre at Thomond Park [KO 7.35pm, TG4].

Johann van Graan, Munster’s head coach, has made 12 adjustments to the side that started the European Champions Cup victory over Castres three weeks ago. Simon Zebo, Jean Kleyn and captain Billy Holland are the three players who retain their places.

Dan Goggin will make his first start of the season after returning from a knee injury. He’s partnered at centre by Sam Arnold, who’s back in action after serving a three-week suspension due to the red card he received in the New Year’s Day defeat to Ulster.

Having played in Ireland’s win over France last weekend, John Ryan is named among the replacements. Gerbrandt Grobler and John Poland could also make their competitive debuts for Munster after being included on the bench.


15. Simon Zebo
14. Darren Sweetnam
13. Sammy Arnold
12. Dan Goggin
11. Alex Wootton
10. JJ Hanrahan
9. Duncan Williams

1. James Cronin
2. Niall Scannell
3. Brian Scott
4. Jean Kleyn
5. Billy Holland (captain)
6. Jack O’Donoghue
7. Conor Oliver
8. Robin Copeland


16. Kevin O’Byrne
17. Jeremy Loughman
18. John Ryan
19. Gerbrandt Grobler
20. Dave O’Callaghan
21. John Poland
22. Ian Keatley
23. Rory Scannell


15. Ciaran Gaffney
14. Gabriele Di Giulio
13. Giulio Bisegni
12. Faialaga Afamasaga
11. Giovanbattista Venditti
10. Serafin Bordoli
9. Guglielmo Palazzani

8. Jimmy Tuivaiti
7. Johan Meyer
6. Renato Giammarioli
5. George Biagi (captain)
4. David Sisi
3. Eduardo Bello
2. Tommaso D’Apice
1. Cruze Ah-Nau


16. Luhandre Luus
17. Andrea De Marchi
18. Roberto Tenga
19. Leonard Krumow
20. Derick Minnie
21. Riccardo Raffaele
22. Maicol Azzolini
23. Rory Parata

Following a 6-year absence, Lionel Beauxis will start for France against Scotland

England coach urges World Rugby to clamp down on ‘out of order’ Alun Wyn Jones

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Dollery

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel