Skip to content
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies. You can change your settings or learn more here.

First European start for O'Byrne as Earls and Scannell return to Munster squad

Munster head coach Johann van Graan has named his team for Sunday’s game away to Leicester Tigers.
Dec 15th 2017, 12:08 PM 9,839 12

Kevin O'Byrne Munster hooker Kevin O'Byrne. Source: Bryan Keane/INPHO

JOHANN VAN GRAAN has made two enforced changes to his Munster starting line-up for Sunday’s clash with Leicester Tigers at Welford Road in Pool 4 of the European Champions Cup [KO 5.30pm, BT Sport 2].

With Rhys Marhsall and Andrew Conway both ruled out after sustaining knocks to the head during last weekend’s home win against Leicester, Kevin O’Byrne and Darren Sweetnam have been drafted into the team. Sweetnam returns on the wing, while hooker O’Byrne will be making his first European start.

Niall Scannell and Keith Earls are also back in the matchday squad. Having recovered from their respective thumb and hamstring injuries, both players are included among the replacements.


15. Simon Zebo
14. Darren Sweetnam
13. Sam Arnold
12. Rory Scannell
11. Alex Wootton
10. Ian Keatley
9. Conor Murray

1. Dave Kilcoyne
2. Kevin O’Byrne
3. Stephen Archer
4. Jean Kleyn
5. Billy Holland
6. Peter O’Mahony (captain)
7. Chris Cloete
8. CJ Stander


16. Niall Scannell
17. Brian Scott
18. John Ryan
19. Darren O’Shea
20. Jack O’Donoghue
21. Duncan Williams
22. JJ Hanrahan
23. Keith Earls

‘You have to take everything with a pinch of salt’: Stockdale keen to give the hype a wide berth

‘There must be a bit of a gene inside me which doesn’t mind the down and dirty stuff’

Send a tip to the author

Paul Dollery


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a comment

    cancel reply
    Back to top