This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 2 °C Saturday 23 February, 2019

Battling Barrs come from 8 down to force replay with Nemo in Cork SFC final

Stephen Sherlock finished with 0-8 for St Finbarr’s in Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

See you again: Nemo Rangers' Colin O'Brien and Colin Lyons of St. Finbarr's.
See you again: Nemo Rangers' Colin O'Brien and Colin Lyons of St. Finbarr's.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Nemo Rangers 0-14

St Finbarr’s 0-14

A REPLAY WILL be needed in the Cork SFC final after St Finbarr’s finished well to secure a draw in Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Sunday.

Nemo roared out of the blocks and had eight unanswered points on the board inside the opening 18 minutes.

Cork star Luke Connolly was to the forefront during this purple patch for the Trabeg side, scoring four points, while Jack Horgan and Barry O’Driscoll were also on target. Though they were competing at midfield, St Finbarr’s couldn’t turn their territory into scores, with three shots dropping into the hands of Nemo goalkeeper Micheál Martin.

A Stephen Sherlock free did get the Barrs off the mark in the 20th minute and scores from Cillian Myers Murray and Ian Maguire followed immediately in the wake of that as they found some momentum.

By half time though, Nemo were still well in control, leading by 0-10 to 0-4 and Ciarán Dalton’s nice score four minutes into the second half made it 0-12 to 0-5.

They wouldn’t score again for 18 minutes though, with the Barrs getting five in a row, two each from Sherlock and Colin Lyons and one from Denis O’Brien.

Even so, points from Alan O’Donovan and Colin O’Brien ensured that Nemo had the edge, but the Barrs persisted. Sherlock’s free was followed by his first from play, and then when Roy Leahy set him up, the sides were level for the first time since the scoring had opened.

The Barrs won possession from the kickout and held on to the ball, but a scoring chance didn’t present itself and so the sides must meet again.

Scorers for Nemo Rangers: Luke Connolly 0-4 (0-2 frees), J Horgan, C O’Brien, B O’Driscoll, P Gumley 0-2 each, A O’Donovan, C Dalton 0-1 each.

Scorers for St Finbarr’s: S Sherlock 0-8 (0-6 frees), D O’Brien, C Lyons 0-2 each, C Myers Murray, I Maguire 0-1 each.

Nemo Rangers

1. Micheál Martin

3. Aidan O’Reilly
4. Alan Cronin
2. Cian McWhinney

5. Tomás Ó Sé
6. Stephen Cronin
7. Kevin Fulignati

8. Alan O’Donovan
9. Jack Horgan

19. Barry O’Driscoll
11. Paul Kerrigan
12. Colin O’Brien

15. Ciarán Dalton
14. Paddy Gumley
13. Luke Connolly


20. Jack O’Donovan for Fulignati (53)
25. Michael Dorgan for Jack Horgan (53)
10. Conor Horgan for O’Driscoll (58)

St Finbarr’s

1. Declan Murphy

7. Alan McCarthy
2. Glen O’Connor
6. Dylan Quinn

5. Colin Lyons
28. Sam Ryan
3. Jamie Burns

8. Ian Maguire
9. Eoin Comyns

10. Denis O’Brien
11. Michael Shields
12. Enda Dennehy

13. Cillian Myers Murray
18. Robert O’Mahony
15. Stephen Sherlock


22. Roy Leahy for O’Mahony (47, injured)
25. Colm Keane for O’Brien (53)
21. Alan O’Connor for Lyons (60)

Referee: Conor Lane (Banteer)

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Quinlivan and Clonmel bag another Tipp county title – and up next, it’s Dr Crokes

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Denis Hurley

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel