Dublin: 7°C Friday 3 December 2021

11 counties represented on New York team to face Mayo next Sunday

Down, Tyrone, Kerry, Westmeath, Clare, Cork, Laois, Galway, Offaly, Donegal and Armagh all have players included.

Keith Scally will be wing-back for New York on Sunday.
Keith Scally will be wing-back for New York on Sunday.
Image: Ed Mulholland

11 COUNTIES HAVE player representatives in the New York team that will face Mayo in next Sunday’s Connacht SFC opening round against Mayo in Gaelic Park at 7.30pm (local time 2.30pm).

Manager Ian Galvin has included players from Down, Tyrone, Kerry, Westmeath, Clare, Cork, Laois, Galway, Offaly, Donegal and Armagh in his team to face James Horan’s Mayo side.

There are only five survivors from last year’s loss to Leitrim in goalkeeper Gavin Joyce, wing-back Keith Scally, midfielder Alan Raftery, centre-forward Jason Kelly and corner-forward Gary O’Driscoll.

There are championship debuts handed out to captain Brendan Quigley and wing-forward Ross Wherity who both lined out in the championship last year for Laois and Donegal respectively.

Down duo Gerard McCartan and Keith Quinn are other newcomers who have previous inter-county experience as does wing-back Denis O’Sullivan, who played in the 2012 All-Ireland semi-final for Cork against Donegal.

Manager Ian Galvin confirmed that Galway’s Nicky Joyce was never part of the squad’s plans while Offaly’s Brian Connor had to drop off the panel.

“Nicky was never part of our plans and Brian had to leave because of work commitments. It was very hard for him to train so he had to pull himself off the panel.”

Right corner-back Ronan McGinley has a Tyrone county senior medal with Errigal Ciaran while left corner-back Kieran O’Connor played for Kerry in the Munster U21 final in 2010.

Centre-back Paul O’Connor featured for Clare’s Kilmurry-Ibrickane in the 2010 All-Ireland senior club final while Down’s Paddy Boyle and Armagh’s Johnny McGeeney complete the attacking line-up.

IMG_0086 copy New York manager Ian Galvin presenting a signed jersey to US Army Football defensive co-ordinator Jay Bateman during a recent New York GAA trip to West Point, NY.

The team in full is:

1. Gavin Joyce (Cavan NY/Ballymartin, Down)
2. Ronan McGinley (Cavan NY/Errigal Ciaran, Tyrone)
3. Gerard McCartan (Kerry NY/Burren, Down)
4. Kieran O Connor (Kerry NY/Listowel Emmett’s, Kerry)
5. Keith Scally (Westmeath NY/Tyrrellspass, Westmeath)
6. Paul O Connor (Cork NY/Kilmurry Ibrickane, Clare)
7. Denis O Sullivan (Cork NY/Clonakilty, Cork)
8. Brendan Quigley (Captain, Donegal NY/Timahoe, Laois)
9. Alan Raftery (Cork NY/Oranmore / Maree, Galway)
10. Paddy Boyle (Donegal NY/Castlewellan, Down)
11. Jason Kelly (Offaly NY/Shannonbridge, Offaly)
12. Ross Wherity (Kerry NY/St Eunans, Donegal)
13. Johnny McGeeney (Armagh NY/Culloville Blues, Armagh)
14. Keith Quinn (Leitrim NY/Mayobridge, Down)
15. Gary O Driscoll (Kerry NY/Skellig Rangers, Kerry)

16. Ray Coyle (Mayo NY/Parke/Keelogues/Crimlin, Mayo)
17. Conor McCormack (Kerry NY/St Mary’s, Dublin)
18. Hugh Curran (Cork NY/Newcestown, Cork)
19. Shaun McNamee (Cork NY/Crossmaglen Rangers, Armagh)
20. Niall Farrell (Kerry NY/Donaghmore, Ashbourne, Meath)
21. Lonan Maguire (Leitrim NY/Clones, Monaghan)
22. Tommy Warburton (Cavan NY/Castledaly, Westmeath)
23. James Huvane (St Raymond’s)
24. Pauric Graham (Monaghan NY/Oram Sarsfields, Monaghan)
25. Michael Reilly (Cavan NY/Shercock, Cavan)
26. Richey Morgan (Armagh NY/Keady Micheal Dwyers, Armagh)

New York prepare for Mayo game with a trip to the United States Military Academy

Mayo are Big Apple bound – ‘It’s a cool setting over there and New York is a class city’

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: