This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 0 °C Thursday 17 January, 2019

No McGoldrick but Walters included as Ireland squad fly out to Georgia

Both the Burnley attacker and John O’Shea took a full part in training today.

Jon Walters pictured during Ireland training.
Jon Walters pictured during Ireland training.
Image: Gary Carr/INPHO

JON WALTERS TOOK a full part in training and was included in the Ireland squad that flew out to Georgia today.

Both the Burnley attacker and John O’Shea have been suffering from niggling injuries of late, but the pair were available for Thursday morning’s session at the FAI National Training Centre.

However, Ipswich striker David McGoldrick was not in the travelling party, having withdrawn from the squad for personal reasons, though there are no other injury concerns currently.

The 29-year-old’s absence leaves Ireland with just three strikers to choose from, though assistant boss Roy Keane hinted during the week that Preston forward Sean Maguire could be brought into the squad ahead of next week’s match at home to Serbia, while the Irish management team are also hoping Burnley’s Jeff Hendrick will recover in time for the vital clash.

The Boys in Green face Georgia in a 2018 World Cup qualifier in Tbilisi on Saturday evening (5pm Irish time), before hosting Group D leaders Serbia at the Aviva Stadium on Tuesday night.

Republic of Ireland Squad to face Georgia and Serbia

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Rob Elliot (Newcastle United), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday)

Defenders: Cyrus Christie (Middlesbrough), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), John O’Shea (Sunderland), Kevin Long, Stephen Ward (Burnley)

Midfielders: Aiden McGeady (Sunderland), Glenn Whelan, Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), David Meyler (Hull City), Robbie Brady (Burnley), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion), Daryl Horgan (Preston North End), Jonathan Hayes (Celtic), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City)

Forwards: Jonathan Walters (Burnley), Shane Long (Southampton), Daryl Murphy (Nottingham Forest)

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Tottenham pay €25 million for Kyle Walker replacement Aurier>

Done deal: Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain’s €38 million switch to Liverpool confirmed>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Fennessy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel