Skip to content

Offaly's Gallen CS beat Galway opposition to claim All-Ireland

Cian Johnson hit 1 – 4 to keep his school in control in Croke Park.
Apr 2nd 2016, 2:56 PM 8,627 2

Gallen CS Ferbane (Offaly) 1-6

Holy Rosary Mountbellew (Galway) 0-4

Jackie Cahill at Croke Park

CIAN JOHNSON WAS the shooting star, notching 1-4 from play, as Offaly’s Gallen Community School claimed All-Ireland Colleges senior football B glory at Croke Park this afternoon.

Ryan Heavin and John Corcoran lift the Paddy Drummond Cup Ryan Heavin and John Corcoran lift the Paddy Drummond Cup. Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Gallen lifted the Drummond Cup after a low-scoring encounter that saw runners-up Holy Rosary Mountbellew score just a point in the second half, and rack up a total of 14 wides.

Gallen, who were All-Ireland Vocational schools senior A winners in 2011, led by 1-2 to 0-3 at half-time, that man Johnson accounting for all of their first half scores.

In response, Holy Rosary had a brace of long-range scores from Billy Mannion, who wasn’t listed to start but came in for Seán Thomson, and a John Daly free. But Holy Rosary, in difficult weather conditions, had six first half wides, with Gallen registering four of their own.

Rory Cunningham is tackled by Luke Gavin Rory Cunningham of Holy Rosary is tackled by Luke Gavin Mangan. Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

A pair of Johnson points had Gallen two clear by the 13th minute, before Mannion’s booming 45 in the 16th minute opened the Holy Rosary account.

Ferbane Belmont player Johnson, who bagged 2-4 against Kerry outfit St Michael’s in the semi-final, replied with a goal within a minute of Mannion’s point, rifling a brilliant low drive into the bottom corner of the Davin Stand end with his left boot.

Mannion, who had to come off injured in the second half, had a chance saved by Barry Rohan at the other end and after the towering Mountbellew/Moylough player landed a point from play, Daly pointed a free to keep Holy Rosary in touch at half-time.

Sean Miland Holy Rosary's Sean Miland spins away. Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

The first score of the second half finally arrived with less than 13 minutes remaining, Johnson on target before Conor Lynam added another for the winners as they moved four points clear.

Liam Boyle ended a 32-minute scoring drought for Holy Rosary but points in quick succession from Jack Clancy and outstanding corner forward Johnson closed the game out for Gallen.

Scorers for Gallen CS: Cian Johnson 1-4, Conor Lynam & Jack Clancy 0-1.

Scorers for Holy Rosary: Billy Mannion 0-2 (1 45), Liam Boyle & John Daly (f) 0-1 each.

Gallen CS

1. Barry Rohan (Shannonbridge)

2. Jack Quinn (Ballycumber)
3. Jack Devery (Ferbane Belmont)
4. Luke Gavin Mangan (Ballycumber)


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

5. David Nally (Ferbane Belmont)
6. Ronan Hynes (Shannonbridge)
7. Jack Darcy (Shannonbridge)

8. Tom Corcoran (Ballycumber)
9. Ciaran Brazil (Doon)

10. Conor Owens (Erin Rovers)
11. Jack Clancy (Ferbane Belmont)
12. Ryan Heavin (Ferbane Belmont)

13. Cian Johnson (Ferbane Belmont)
14. Nathan Poland (Erin Rovers)
15. Conor Lynam (Erin Rovers)


17. Kyle Higgins (Erin Rovers) for Brazil (h.t.)
18. Ronan McGuire (Erin Rovers) for Heavin (48)
22. Conor Mannion (Doon) for Darcy (60+2)

Holy Rosary

1. Darragh Murphy (St Brendan’s)

14. Jack Gavin (St Brendan’s)
3. Christopher Fahy (Kilkerrin/Clonberne)
4. Colin Murray (Mountbellew/Moylough)

5. Liam Boyle (Kilkerrin/Clonberne)
6. Alan Sommers (Mountbellew/Moylough)
15. James Foley (Mountbellew/Moylough)

8. John Daly (Mountbellew/Moylough)
9. Ronan Griffin (Mountbellew/Moylough)

7. Gerard Donohue (Mountbellew/Moylough)
11. Seán Miland (Mountbellew/Moylough)
12. Kieran Dowd (Menlough)

10. Conor Fahey (Mountbellew/Moylough)
13. Rory Cunningham (St Bredan’s)
17. Billy Mannion (Mountbellew/Moylough)


19. Oran O’Reilly (Mountbellew/Moylough) for Mannion (45)
20. Oisin Moran (Kilberrin/Clonberne) for Fahey (52)
21. Shane Coleman (St Brendan’s) for Dowd (56)
2. Seán Thomson (Mountbellew/Moylough) for O’Reilly (60+2)
25. Niall Sweeney (Mountbellew/Moylough) for Gavin 60+3)

Referee: Fergal Barry (Kildare)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

‘It’s great to have a coach of his ability, his record speaks for itself’ – Tony McEntee’s Mayo impact

Liveblog: Dublin v Kildare, EirGrid Leinster U21 football final

Send a tip to the author

Jackie Cahill


    Back to top