This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Wednesday 16 January, 2019

Veteran forward Niall McNamee returns to start in his 15th championship campaign with Offaly

Westmeath have made two changes from their Division 4 league final win.

Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

THE OFFALY SIDE to face Westmeath on Sunday in Bord na Móna O’Connor Park has been named, with Niall McNamee the notable inclusion in Pat Flanagan’s starting XV.

McNamee took some time out from the county set-up after Rhode’s run to the Leinster club final, but he returned to the squad after their Division 3 league campaign

It’s his 15th championship campaign with the squad, having made his debut as a 17-year-old in 2003.

McNamee’s Rhode team-mate Eoin Rigney has recovered from a shoulder injury to start at full-back. Sean Pender captains the side from corner-back.

The Westmeath team has also been announced and it shows two personnel changes from the Division 4 league final win over Wexford.

Paddy Holloway comes in for David Lynch, while Noel Mulligan reverts to attack. Tommy McDaniels is replaced by St Lomans corner-forward Shane Dempsey.


1. Alan Mulhall (Island)

2. Brian Darby (Rhode)
3. Eoin Rigney (Rhode)
4. Sean Pender (Edenderry)

5. Niall Darby (Rhode)
6. Peter Cunningham (Bracknagh)
7. Cian Donohue (St Brigid’s)

8. Eoin Carroll (Cappincur)
9. David Hanlon (Edenderry)

10. Joseph O’Connor (St Rynagh’s)
11. Graham Guilfoyle (Clara)
12. Michael Brazil (Tullamore)

13. Sean Doyle (Edenderry)
14. Nigel Dunne (Shamrocks)
15. Niall McNamee (Rhode)


1. Darren Quinn (Tyrrellspass)

2. Jamie Gonoud (Tyrrellspass)
3. Kevin Maguire (Caulry)
4. Killian Daly (Mullingar Shamrocks)

5. James Dolan (Garrycastle)
6. Paddy Holloway (Castledaly)
7. Mark McCallon (Garrycastle)

8. Alan Stone (Castledaly)
9. Ger Egan (Capt) (Tyrrellspass)

10. Kelvin Reilly (St Lomans Mullingar)
11. Paul Sharry (St Lomans Mullingar)
12. Noel Mulligan (Athlone)

13. Kieran Martin (Maryland)
14. John Heslin (St Lomans Mullingar)
15. Shane Dempsey (St Lomans Mullingar)

16. Stephen Gallagher (St Lomans Mullingar)
17.Frank Boyle (Killucan)
18.Cormac Boyle (Killucan)
19.David Lynch (St Malachys)
20.John Egan (Athlone)
21.John Connellan (Athlone)
22.Alan Gaughan (Athlone)
23.Callum McCormack (Maryland)
24.Denis Glennon (Tyrrellspass)
25.Tommy McDaniels (Ballinagore)
26.Shane Corcoran (Milltownpass)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

‘He’s your complete modern player’ – Ó Sé and Spillane heap praise on Kerry’s Mr Reliable

‘I came off the field that day thinking, ‘Michael Fennelly will start against Wexford”

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel