Skip to content
Carl Lewis in Times Square this week.
Carl Lewis in Times Square this week.
Image: Brian Ach/AP/Press Association Images

Opening the doors: athletics chiefs establish Hall of Fame

Jesse Owens and Carl Lewis are amongst the first dozen inductees.
Mar 8th 2012, 10:00 PM 205 1

THE IAAF HAS created a Hall of Fame that includes Jesse Owens, Carl Lewis and Fanny Blankers-Koen among the first 12 inductees.

The Hall of Fame, which marks the 100-year anniversary of the IAAF, will have an inaugural class of 24 athletes. The remaining 12 inductees will be announced later in the year but before the IAAF Centenary Gala on 24 November in Barcelona.

The IAAF says criteria for induction include winning at least two Olympic or world championship gold medals and setting at least one world record. Athletes must be retired for 10 years before becoming eligible.

The other inductees are Abebe Bikila, Paavo Nurmi, Emil Zatopek, Al Oerter, Adhemar da Silva, Ed Moses, Betty Cuthbert, Jackie Joyner-Kersee and Wang Junxia.

The YouTube top 10: Because Derek Rabelo is a better surfer than you

WATCH: LeBron James spins 360 degrees on his way to the basket


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

Send a tip to the author

Associated Press


    Back to top