This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 17 °C Saturday 11 July, 2020

Oulart topple reigning champions Kilcormac in Leinster hurling semi-final

The Wexford champions now advance to a final meeting with Carlow’s Mount Leinster Rangers.

Keith Rossiter celebrates Oulart's victory.
Keith Rossiter celebrates Oulart's victory.
Image: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

Oulart-The-Ballagh (Wexford) 1-18
Kilcormac-Killoughey (Offaly) 2-11

OULART-THE-BALLAGH gained revenge for last year’s AIB Leinster club hurling final loss to Kilcormac-Killoughey by winning today’s semi-final clash at Tullamore.

The Wexford champions showed great resolve to come back from a five-point deficit at half-time to dominate the second-half and run out merited winners.

They’ll now advance to a final meeting with Carlow’s Mount Leinster Rangers on December 1st where they will hope to land their first provincial title.

It’ll be Oulart’s fourth consecutive Leinster decider appearance and the Martin Storey-managed side have suffered heartbreak in their last three final showings.

They started brightest in today’s game with Rory Jacob and Garrett Sinnott pushing them into an early 0-4 to 0-0 lead.

But Kilcormac-Killoughey fought back to dominate the opening period with Ciaran Slevin’s long-range free going all the way to the net in the 16th minute and then Dan Currams fired home a superb goal in the 21st minute after being set up by Peter Geraghty.

Kilcormac started the second-half well with an early point from Thomas Geraghty but then came the crucial spell in the game as Oulart remarkably hit 1-8 without reply for the rest of the third quarter.

David Redmond landed some inspirational points, Des Mythen also showed up well in the scoring stakes and Rory Jacob did brilliantly to cut in from the left wing and bag a priceless goal.

Kilcormac tried to rally, spearheaded by chief scorer Ciaran Slevin, but Oulart’s defence was in resilient form and they closed out the game for a fine victory.

Scorers for Oulart-The-Ballagh: Rory Jacob 1-5 (0-3f), David Redmond 0-4, Garrett Sinnott, Eoin Moore, Conor O’Leary, Des Mythen 0-2 each, Darren Nolan 0-1.
Scorers for Kilcormac-Killoughey: Ciaran Slevin 1-6 (1-4f, 0-1 ’65), Dan Currams 1-0, Thomas Geraghty 0-3, Peter Geraghty, Killian Leonard 0-1 each.


Pic: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

Sixmilebridge reach Munster senior hurling final with win over Midleton

Carlow’s Mount Leinster Rangers shock Ballyboden in Leinster semi-final

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: