Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 2°C Wednesday 14 April 2021

From one Maher to another - Tipperary announce new senior hurling captain

Thurles Sarsfields’ Padraic Maher is the new leader.

Padraic Maher and Brendan Maher celebrate at the end of the game Padraic Maher and Brendan Maher celebrate after September's All-Ireland final win Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

PADRAIC MAHER WILL captain the reigning All-Ireland senior hurling champions Tipperary for the 2017 season.

The announcement sees Thurles Sarsfields player Maher promoted from vice-captain as he replaces Borris-Ileigh’s Brendan Maher, who was the leader when Tipperary lifted the Liam MacCarthy Cup in September.

Star forward Seamus Callanan from the Drom-Inch club is the new vice-captain of the Tipperary team.

Padraic Maher is 27 years old and made his Tipperary debut in 2009. He is a two-time All-Ireland senior hurling winner while he captained Tipperary to the 2010 All-Ireland U21 title as well.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Earlier this month he won his fourth All-Star award after being previously recognised for his defensive exploits in 2009, 2011 and 2014.

Padraic Maher and Seamus Callanan celebrate with the Liam McCarthy Cup Padraic Maher and Seamus Callanan celebrating September's win over Kilkenny Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

29 year-old Callanan has been nominated for Hurler of the Year for the last three seasons and has won three consecutive All-Stars in that same period.

He came on as a substitute in the 2010 All-Ireland final win before shooting 0-13 in September’s success over Kilkenny in a game where he claimed the man-of-the-match award.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Back from AFL life with Fremantle to give Kildare football a boost for 2017

Maurice Fitzgerald to join Kerry senior setup as selector for 2017

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: