Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 9°C Wednesday 12 May 2021

Patrickswell end 13-year wait for Limerick hurling title with a 19-point final win

Ballybrown had no answer at the Gaelic Grounds this afternoon.

Goalkeeper Brian Murray celebrates Patrickswell's Limerick senior hurling final win. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Patrickswell 1-26
Ballybrown 1-7

THEY ARE ONE of the aristocrats of Limerick club hurling but Patrickswell have had to endure a barren spell in recent years.

Since winning the county final in 2003 they endured frustration in trying to claim silverware, not least when losing out by a point in the 2015 decider to the eventual All-Ireland champions Na Piarsaigh.

But the ‘Well are back on top of Limerick hurling after demolishing Ballybrown by 19-points to take the honours in today’s decider at the Gaelic Grounds.

Thomas O'Brien Captain Thomas O'Brien lifts the trophy

The Gary Kirby-managed side unleashed a terrific display to capture the title with ten different players contributing on the scoreboard.

Aaron Gillane top scored with 0-7 with Limerick seniors Diarmuid Byrnes (0-6) and Cian Lynch (0-3) also doing their bit. Full-forward Kevin O’Brien notched their only goal while veteran Barry Foley also chipped in with a point.

The Patrickswell substitutes celebrate Patrickswell substitutes celebrate their victory

From the off Patrickswell were in control with O’Brien’s goal in the 13th minute helping them go in front 1-6 to 0-2 after the opening quarter and they possessed a 1-10 to 0-5 advantage at the break.

There was no respite in the second-half as Patrickswell accelerated further clear to be ahead 1-19 to 0-6 entering the final quarter.

Kevin O'Brien celebrates scoring his sides first goal Kevin O'Brien hit the net for Patrickswell Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

A goal from Stephen Foster was a late consolation for Ballybrown, who also had a 0-4 return from forward Alan O’Connor.

But there was no stopping Patrickswell who advance to a Munster club semi-final tie against Glen Rovers.

Scorers from Patrickswell: A Gillane 0-7 (0-5f), D Byrnes 0-6 (0-5f), C Lynch 0-3, S O’Brien, J Kelleher, L Considine, T O’Brien 0-2 each, M Carmody, B Foley 0-1 each.

Scorers for Ballybrown: A O’Connor 0-4 (0-3f), S Foster 1-1, K Loftus, L Doolan 0-1 each.

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

1-11 for Pauric Mahony as Ballygunner complete Waterford hurling three-in-a-row

Slaughtneil have become the first Derry club to win Ulster senior hurling title

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel