Skip to content
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies. You can change your settings or learn more here.

Geaney, Connolly, McGrath and Farrell claim 2016 Munster and Leinster GAA senior player awards

Kerry, Dublin, Tipperary and Kilkenny players have all been recognised.
Dec 9th 2016, 3:03 PM 5,351 0

pjimage (1) Kerry's Paul Geaney and Dublin's Diarmuid Connolly

KERRY’S PAUL GEANEY and Tipperary’s John McGrath have claimed the senior player honours in the 2016 Munster GAA awards.

While Dublin’s Diarmuid Connolly and Kilkenny’s Jonjo Farrell have won the equivalent awards in Leinster as they are the inaugural winners of the Pearse Medal for 2016.

Leinster Championship 2016 Players' of the Year Medal Presentation Jonjo Farrell and Diarmuid Connolly during a presentation in Croke Park Source: SPORTSFILE

Geaney inspired Kerry to Munster title glory when he hit 0-5 in the semi-final against Clare and was man-of-the-match when scoring 2-3 in the final win over Tipperary.

Paul Geaney scores a goal Paul Geaney raised two green flags against Tipperary Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

McGrath made his Munster senior championship debut when scoring a point against Cork, he struck the same total against Limerick before exploding to life in the final when he fired 3-2 in the victory over Waterford.

John McGrath scores the first goal John McGrath netted a hat-trick against Waterford Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Connolly was again instrumental to Dublin’s victory, man-of-the-match in their wins over Laois and Meath before helping them overcome Westmeath in the final.

Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Farrell was a revelation for Kilkenny in the Leinster senior champiosnhip, striking 2-9 from play in their victories over Dublin and Galway.

Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO


Meanwhile there are several other award winners in Munster that will be honoured at a gala dinner in the Rochestown Park Hotel tomorrow night

Cork’s Michael Hurley and Waterford’s Austin Gleeson have claimed the U21 awards after their respective provincial final wins, while Kerry’s David Clifford and Tipperary’s Jake Morris were the minor stars in 2016.

Limerick’s Niamh Mulcahy will receive the camogie award while Cork’s Rena Buckley is the ladies football recipient.

Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

The Manager of the Year award goes to Tipperary’s Michael Ryan after he guided them to the Munster and All-Ireland senior hurling titles.

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Ballyea are the Club of the Year after winning their first Clare county senior hurling title in only their second ever final appearance before then progressing to claim the Munster club crown.

Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Other award winners include:

  • Charlie McCarthy (Cork) – Hurling Hall of Fame
  • John Quane (Limerick) – Football Hall of Fame
  • Micheál Mac Conmara (An Clár) – Special Service Award – contribution to Scór
  • Aishling O’Keeffe (Cork) – Handball

Cork hurling great Charlie McCarthy Source: Andrew Paton/INPHO

John Quane Limerick football great John Quane

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Seeing Cuala succeed is driving ‘Dotsy’ O’Callaghan to give hurling career one last push

Davy Fitzgerald on his health, hurling and how Wexford changed his mind

Send a tip to the author

Fintan O'Toole


    Back to top