Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 9°C Saturday 15 May 2021

PBC capture the Munster Senior Schools Cup title for the first time in seven years

Presentation Brothers College now join their great city rivals CBC at the top of the roll-of-honour following the win.

PBC’s players celebrate at the end of the game.
PBC’s players celebrate at the end of the game.
Image: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Presentation Brothers College (PBC) 11

Glenstal Abbey School 3

CENTRE SEAN FRENCH emerged as the PBC hero, scoring all his side’s points, in helping the famous Cork school clinch their 29th Munster Schools Senior Cup in foul conditions at Thomond Park.

Pres now join their great city rivals, CBC, at the top of the roll-of-honour after securing their first cup since 2010.

The weather destroyed all prospect of a flowing game as the famous venue was battered by howling wind and rain all through.

Pres dominated for most of the game and led 8-3 at the break. French kicked them in front with a 15th minute penalty though Glenstal levelled straight away with a fine Ben Healy kick.

But, Glenstal’s joy didn’t last long, however, as Pres grabbed the only try after 19 minutes with the outstanding number eight and captain Jack O’Sullivan setting up French for the break-through score.

The Cork side attacked for most of the second-half, but dropped passes and the defiant Glenstal defence restricted them to just a late French, who hit the target from 25 metres.

Pres’s only worry came moments before, when Glenstal flanker Conor Booth broke clear from his own 22 only to be hauled down just over half-way. And a resulting penalty relieved the danger.

PBC scorers:
Tries: S French
Penalties: S French (2)
Glenstal scorers:
Penalties: B Healy

PBC: 15. J Wren, 14. P Buckley, 13. S French, 12. J Broderick, 11. T Fitzgerald, 10. P Sylvester, 9. G Bradley; 1. C Burke, 2. B Scannell, 3. B O’Connor, 4. A McAuliffe, 5. M McCarthy, 6. C Fitzgerald, 7. J O’Sullivan, 8. D Hyland (captain)

Replacments: E Burns for McAuliffe 52 mins, D Harrington for Bradley 63 mins

Glenstal Abbey: 15. J O’Mahony, 14. T Molony, 13. J Mawhinney, 12. L Fitzgerald, 11. R Quinn, 10. B Healy, 9. T Coole; 1. S Scanlon-Garry, 2. G Downing, 3. E Bergin, 4. C O’Sullivan, 5. S Downes, 6. C Booth, 7. R Clarke, 8. M Fleming (captain)

Replacements: A Hogan for Molony 55 mins, H Downing for Bergin 63 mins, D Floyd for Mawhinney 67 mins, M Walsh for Downes 71 mins

Referee: K Imbusch (Munster)

Subscribe to The42 Rugby Show podcast here:

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel