Thursday 2 February 2023 Dublin: 10°C
Mike Egerton/PA Wire/Press Association Images
# Awards Season
The PFA Player of the Year shortlist has been revealed and one club dominates
Jamie Vardy, Riyad Mahrez and N’Golo Kante are all in the mix.

LEICESTER CITY’S INEXPLICABLE run towards the Premier League title has been contextualised further by three of their players being shortlisted for the PFA Player of the Year award.

Striker Jamie Vardy, winger Riyad Mahrez and midfielder N’Golo Kante are all nominated.

Vardy is still in the running to win the Golden Boot award with 21 top-flight goals and broke Ruud van Nistelrooy’s Premier League goalscoring record for goals in successive games last November.

Mahrez has managed 16 goals and added a further 11 assists in what’s been a breakout season for the Algerian while Kante has won himself widespread recognition for his tireless performances – even earning a call-up to the French national team last month where he scored in his first start.

Britain Soccer Premier League Frank Augstein / AP/Press Association Images Frank Augstein / AP/Press Association Images / AP/Press Association Images

Also nominated are Tottenham’s Harry Kane, Arsenal’s Mesut Ozil and Dimitri Payet of West Ham.

Kane is also nominated for the Young Player of the Year but faces stiff competition from his team-mate Dele Alli.

Everton also have two players shortlisted in Romelu Lukaku and Ross Barkley with Stoke City’s Jack Butland also in the mix.

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

The winners will be announced on 24 April.

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

The Man United lineup from their last FA Cup replay with West Ham shows how much has changed in 3 years

‘I am unplayable’ – West Ham striker Andy Carroll is feeling confident

Your Voice
Readers Comments