This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Wednesday 19 December, 2018

Ronaldo pips Messi and Neymar to win Fifa's Best Player award again

The Portugal and Real Madrid star has won the award for the second year in a row.

Real Madrid and Portugal star Cristiano Ronaldo.
Real Madrid and Portugal star Cristiano Ronaldo.

REAL MADRID STAR Cristiano Ronaldo has been named Best Fifa Men’s Player of 2016-17.

The Portuguese attacker takes home the award for the second year in a row, as he managed to defeat competition from fellow finalists Neymar and Lionel Messi at the awards ceremony in London.

Barcelona and Holland midfielder Lieke Martens was crowned the Best Fifa Women’s Player.

Ronaldo, 32, turned in another stunning campaign for Madrid in 2016-17 as he led Los Blancos to a La Liga and Champions League double, including a brace in the Champions League final against Juventus.

Ronaldo netted 25 times in La Liga last term and added 12 goals in the Champions League to round off another sensational goalscoring season.

“[I want to thank] Real Madrid supporters, my teammates, my coach, I have to say thank you to them,” Ronaldo said after recieving the prize.

“This is a great moment for me. Thank you a lot for the support. It’s great to be around such amazing players and I’m so happy.”

The Best Fifa Men’s Player award was initially pared down to a shortlist of 24, which was named in August. From there, Ronaldo, Messi and Neymar were named the three finalists in September.

The winner of the award was selected by the current coaches from every Fifa men’s national team, the current captains of every Fifa men’s national team, one journalist from each territory represented by a national team and fans from all over the world registered on

Ronaldo also took home the inagural Best Fifa Men’s Player award in 2016. Fifa formerly awarded the Ballon d’Or in conjunction with the magazine France Football, but the two sides split apart last year.

France Football still awards the Ballon d’Or, and it is expected the Ronaldo will equal Messi with his fifth such prize when the award is announced in December.

Here’s the FIFPro World XI as Ronaldo and Messi feature for the 11th year

Watch: This spectacular Olivier Giroud scorpion kick has just been voted the best goal of 2016-17

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel