Skip to content

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Image: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Here’s how the next All-Ireland football qualifier draw will work

The four Round 2A qualifier games will take place on the weekend of 1-2 July.
Jun 16th 2017, 4:12 PM 10,454 0

THE ALL-IRELAND football qualifiers are back in full swing and after this weekend four teams will see their 2017 seasons conclude if they suffer defeat.

The winners of Derry-Waterford, Longford-Louth, Laois-Wicklow and Sligo-Antrim will advance from Round 1A to face the beaten provincial semi-finalists that are on the ‘B’ side of the draw.

That list includes Clare and Mayo, as well as the losers from the Meath-Kildare and Tyrone-Donegal games that take place this weekend.

A seperate draw will decide who gets home advantage, but if the two teams have already met in the provincial championship, the winners of that game will automatically host the game.

It means if the draw throws up any of the following match-ups, Meath v Louth, Kildare v Laois, Tyrone v Derry, Mayo v Sligo, Donegal v Antrim, the teams in bold shall play at home.

The four Round 2A qualifier games take place on the weekend of 1-2 July. The draw takes place on RTE Radio 1′s Morning Ireland on Monday morning after the news at 8.30.

Confirmation of venues, times etc for these fixtures will be confirmed by the CCCC on Monday afternoon.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Midfielder Eoin Carroll misses out as Offaly make one change for Westmeath replay

‘The level of engagement and consultation in the matter is totally outrageous’

Send a tip to the author

Kevin O'Brien


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a comment

    cancel reply
    Back to top