Skip to content
DIT: won their first Sigerson in 2013.
DIT: won their first Sigerson in 2013.
Image: INPHO/Donall Farmer

Here's the draw for next season's Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cups

Sigerson champions DIT will kick-off their title defence against St Mary’s in 2014.
Dec 11th 2013, 1:55 PM 5,635 1

DIT WILL BEGIN the defence of their Sigerson Cup title against St Mary’s.

The Dubliners won their maiden third level title this year and will bid to become the first team to defend the cup since IT Sligo in 2004/2005.

Last year’s beaten finalists UCC open their campaign against Trinity while DCU will face the winner of the preliminary round match between NUIG and Tralee.

NUI Maynooth, who have reigning Footballer of the Year Michael Dara MacAuley in their ranks next season, begin against IT Blanchardstown.

The draw for the group stages of the Fitzgibbon Cup was also made this morning pitting champions UCC against WIT, IT Carlow and St Pat’s.

Eddie Enright’s side will be gunning for three-in-a-row in 2014 after they beat Mary I to retain their title earlier this year.

Sigerson Cup 2014

Preliminary Round

  • IT Tralee v NUIG
  • Queens v UL

First Round

  • GMIT v UL/Queens
  • IT Blanchardstown v NUIM
  • Trinity v UCC
  • Cork IT v IT Carlow
  • DIT v St Mary’s
  • UUJ v IT Sligo
  • Athlone IT v UCD
  • NUIG/Tralee v DCU

2014 Fitzgibbon Cup

  • Group A: UCC, WIT, IT Carlow, St Pats
  • Group B: UL, UCD, Mary I
  • Group C: CIT, LIT, GMIT
  • Group D: NUIG, DCU, DIT

‘It’s probably as good as you’re going to get’ – Noel McGrath’s hectic autumn and historic double

Send a tip to the author

Niall Kelly


    Back to top