Skip to content
David Garland in action for DCU earlier this year.
David Garland in action for DCU earlier this year.
Image: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

Monaghan forward takes top award as champions DCU clinch six places on Football Team of the Year

David Garland was honoured with the Footballer of the Year gong.
Apr 2nd 2020, 12:54 PM 6,772 2

MONAGHAN FORWARD DAVID Garland has been named the Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Rising Stars Football Player of the Year, after helping DCU to Sigerson Cup glory this year.

Garland is joined by five of his DCU team-mates on the Football Team of the Year after they defeated IT Carlow to clinch a fifth Sigerson crown in 2020.

Dublin’s star goalkeeper Evan Comerford is included in the team following an impressive campaign, while Donegal’s Brendan McCole and Jordan Morrissey [Carlow] also feature.

Shane Carthy [Dublin] and Monaghan forward Mícheál Bannigan complete the list of DCU representatives along with Garland.

Four players from the beaten finalists IT Carlow have also been selected, with Niall Hughes [Wexford], Trevor Collins [Laois], Padraig O’Toole [Wicklow] and Offaly’s Cian Farrell all making the cut.

Letterkenny Institute of Technology — who reached the Sigerson Cup semi-finals for the first time — have two players on the team along with fellow semi-finalists UCD.

Kerry’s Gavin O’Brien is the sole representatives from the Trench Cup champions CIT.

Due to the on-going Covid-19 pandemic, the 2020 Electric Ireland GAA Higher Education Rising Stars Awards Ceremony has been cancelled but the achievements of the players is still being recognised.

“Congratulations to the Electric Ireland GAA Higher Education Rising Stars Football Team of the Year 2020 who played such a prominent role in this year’s Higher Education Football season,” said GAA President John Horan.

“I would especially like to congratulate David Garland and Shane Kingston who have been named Football Player of the Year and Hurling Player of the Year respectively.

“It is a tremendous honour to be recognised for your achievements on the pitch and many of these men are the rising stars of our great games.”

Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Rising Stars 2020 Football Team of the Year

1. Evan Comerford – DCU DÉ, Ballymun Kickhams, Dublin

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member

2. Brendan McCole – DCU DÉ, Naomh Naille, Donegal
3. Mike Breen – UCD, Beaufort, Kerry
4. Niall Hughes – IT Carlow, Kilanerin – Ballyfad, Wexford

5. Ray Connellan – UCD, Athlone, Westmeath
6. Jordan Morrissey – DCU DÉ, Éire Óg, Carlow
7. Trevor Collins – IT Carlow, Graiguecullen, Laois

8. Shane Carthy – DCU DÉ, Naomh Mearnóg, Dublin
9. Michael Langan – LYIT, Naomh Mícheál, Donegal

10. Padraig O’Toole – IT Carlow, Kiltegan, Wicklow
11. Mícheál Bannigan – DCU DÉ, Aughnamullen, Monaghan
12. Peadar Morgan – LYIT, Naomh Naille, Donegal

13. David Garland – DCU DÉ, Donaghmoyne Fotenoys, Monaghan
14. Gavin O’Brien – CIT, Kerins O’Rahillys, Kerry
15. Cian Farrell – IT Carlow, Edenderry, Offaly

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Send a tip to the author

Sinead Farrell


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a comment

    cancel reply
    Back to top