Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 9°C Monday 10 May 2021

League champions and FAI Cup winners dominate shortlists for end-of-season awards

Dundalk and Cork City are both heavily-represented as the nominations for the SSE Airtricity/SWAI prizes were announced.

John Caulfield and Stephen Kenny Dundalk manager Stephen Kenny and Cork City boss John Caulfield are both up for Personality of the Year. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

SHORTLISTS FOR THE SSE Airtricty/Soccer Writers’ Association of Ireland end-of-season awards have been announced today.

As you might expect, Premier Division champions Dundalk and FAI Cup winners Cork City feature prominently among the nominees for Personality of the Year and Goalkeeper of the Year.

Lilywhites boss Stephen Kenny and three of his players — Daryl Horgan, Andy Boyle and Chris Shields — make the Personality of the Year list along with Cork boss John Caulfied and the league’s top scorer Sean Maguire.

Meanwhile, Derry City’s Gerard Doherty is joined by Cork stopper Mark McNulty and Dundalk number one Gary Rogers for the goalkeeping prize.

The winners will be announced during the annual banquet at Dublin’s Conrad Hotel on 13 January.

SWAI Personality of the Year award Personality of the Year award. Source: David Maher/SPORTSFILE

 SWAI Personality of the Year nominees:

  • Stephen Kenny (Dundalk)
  • Daryl Horgan (Dundalk)
  • John Caulfield (Cork City)
  • Sean Maguire (Cork City)
  • Chris Shields (Dundalk)
  • Andy Boyle (Dundalk)

SWAI Goalkeeper of the Year nominees:

  • Gary Rogers (Dundalk)
  • Mark McNulty (Cork City)
  • Gerard Doherty (Derry City)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Ex-Kilkenny minor hurler hit the net in FA Youth Cup win at Old Trafford last night

Robbie Brady linked with €12 million January move away from Norwich

About the author:

Ben Blake

Read next: