Dublin: 18°C Sunday 26 June 2022

An 8th Connacht final in 12 years for St Brigid's as they cruise to 14-point semi-final win

Leitrim’s Aughawillan were seen off today in Carrick-on-Shannon.

Senan Kilbride and Karol Mannion both on the scoresheet today.
Senan Kilbride and Karol Mannion both on the scoresheet today.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

St Brigid’s 2-18
Aughawillan 1-7

Ciaran McGreal reports from Carrick-on-Shannon

ROSCOMMON CHAMPIONS ST Brigid’s are through to the Connacht senior club football final after they romped to victory over Aughawillan at Pairc Sean Mac Diarmada this afternoon.

This season’s final will be St Brigid’s first appearance in title decider since 2013 and their half-time lead of 12 points left Aughawillan with a mountain to climb in the second half.

But goals in each half from Darren Dolan and Brian Stack ensured that Corofin got good return from their dominance and they waltzed into the provincial final.

St Brigid’s started brilliantly to lead 1-3 to 0-0 inside the first six minutes. Points from Senan Kilbride (2) and Eoin Sheehy got the ball rolling before Darren Dolan notched a goal in the sixth minute. Niall Grehan teed up Dolan who drove the ball past Colin Maguire in the Aughawillan goal.

Aughawillan looked to make a comeback with quick-fire points in the ninth and tenth minute from Morgan Quinn and Mark Plunkett respectively. But with Eoin Sheehy to the fore, St Brigid’s kept them at arm’s length throughout the first half to lead 1-13 to 0-4 at the interval.

St Brigid’s continued their dominance after half time as Adrian Gleeson, Brian Stack and Kilbride scored three unanswered points to extend their lead to 15 points.

Aughawillan pulled a goal back through Stephen Gilheaney to narrow the gap to ten points but this was as close as the Leitrim side got as Brigid’s closed the game out with a goal from Brian Stack with three minutes remaining putting real daylight between the sides.

The St. Brigid's team celebrate St Brigid's players pictured after their Roscommon county final win Source: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

Scorers for St Brigid’s: Darren Dolan 1-2; Brian Stack 1-1; Senan Kilbride 0-4; Eoin Sheehy 0-3; Karol Mannion & Adrian Gleeson 0-2 each; Niall McInerney, Darragh Sheehy, Padraig Kelly & Mark Daly 0-1 each.

Scorers for Aughawillan: Mark Plunkett 0-3 (0-2 ’45); Stephen Gilheaney 1-0; Barry Prior, Sean Flanagan, Niall Beirne & Morgan Quinn 0-1 each.

St Brigid’s

1. Shane Mannion

6. Niall McInerney
3. Darragh Donnelly
4. Darragh Sheehy

7. Eoin Sheehy
20. Niall Grehan
2. Ronan Stack

8. Padraig Kelly
9. Mark Daly

10. Brian Stack
11. Darren Dolan
12. Conor Murray

13. Karol Mannion
14. Senan Kilbride
25. Adrian Gleeson


21. Jack McDonnell for Gleeson (40)
5. Johnny Murray for Grehan (42)
19. David Cunniffe for Dolan (45)
18. Robert Fallon for Eoin Sheehy (53)
27. Conor Gleeson for Kilbride (57)
23. Robbie Kelly for Darragh Sheehy (57)


1. Colin Maguire

2. Declan McGovern
3. Noel Plunkett
4. Michael Quinn

5. Rory McTague
6. Barry Prior
7. Sean Quinn

8. Pearce Dolan
9. Sean Flanagan

12. Gary Plunkett
11. Niall Beirne
10. Mark Plunkett

13. Gerard McGovern
14. Morgan Quinn
15. Ciarán Gilheaney


17. Stephen Gilheaney for McGovern (h-t)
27. Sean Fox for Beirne (45)

Referee: Liam Devaney (Mayo)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

St Vincent’s overcome Connolly black card to reach Leinster semi-final as Diamond shines

17-time All-Ireland senior winner to reconsider inter-county future

About the author:

John Fallon

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel