This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 20 °C Thursday 28 May, 2020

The Sunday Game panel have selected their hurling team of the year

Four counties are represented among the 15 players.

ALL-IRELAND CHAMPIONS KILKENNY dominate the Sunday Game panel’s team of the year, following today’s 1-22 to 1-18 win against Galway in the decider.

The panel — consisting of Donal Óg Cusack, Henry Shefflin, Anthony Daly, Michael Duignan, Ger Loughnane, Liam Sheedy and Cyril Farrell — also unanimously selected Kilkenny forward TJ Reid as their hurler of 2015.

The team is made up of seven players from champions Kilkenny, four from runners-up Galway and two each from beaten semi-finalists Tipperary and Waterford.

TJ Reid celebrates after the match TJ Reid Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

The Sunday Game’s hurling team of the year


1. Colm Callanan (Galway)

Full-back line

2. Paul Murphy (Kilkenny)
3. Joey Holden (Kilkenny)
4. Cathal Barrett (Tipperary)

Half-back line

5. Daithí Burke (Galway)
6. Tadhg de Búrca (Waterford)
7. Cillian Buckley (Kilkenny)


8. Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny)
9. David Burke (Galway)

Half-forward line

10. Jonathan Glynn (Galway)
11. Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)
12. TJ Reid (Kilkenny)

Full-forward line

13. Ger Aylward (Kilkenny)
14. Seamus Callanan (Tipperary)
15. Maurice Shanahan (Waterford)


Do you agree with the team selected by the Sunday Game panel? Let us know in the comments section below…

Kilkenny defender celebrates his ninth All-Ireland – and the first for the screw in his foot

Richie Power and his son steal the show in our sporting pics of the week

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Dollery

Read next: