This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Saturday 23 March, 2019

The Sunday Game experts have named their 2016 Hurling Team of the Year

Seamus Callanan named as the RTÉ panel’s Hurler of the Year.


ALL-IRELAND CHAMPIONS Tipperary have taken seven places on The Sunday Game’s Hurling Team of the Year, with runners-up Kilkenny filling four spots.

And Seamus Callanan was named as the panel’s Hurler of the Year with four of the seven panellists opting for today’s man of the match as the outstanding performer over the course of the season.

Here are the selections in full. What do you think?

The Sunday Game’s Hurling Team of the Year

1. Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny)

2. Cathal Barrett (Tipperary)
3. James Barry (Tipperary)
4. Daithí Burke (Galway)

5. Padraig Walsh (Kilkenny)
6. Ronan Maher (Tipperary)
7. Padraic Maher (Tipperary)

8. Jamie Barron (Waterford)
9. David Burke (Galway)

10. Walter Walsh (Kilkenny)
11. Austin Gleeson (Waterford)
12. Patrick ‘Bonner’ Maher (Tipperary)

13. Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)
14. Seamus Callanan (Tipperary)
15. John McGrath (Tipperary)

Hurler of the Year

Henry Shefflin: Padraic Maher

Michael Duignan: John McGrath

Liam Sheedy: Seamus Callanan

Ger Loughnane: Padraic Maher

Eddie Brennan: Seamus Callanan

Brendan Cummins: Seamus Callanan

Cyril Farrell: Seamus Callanan

John Gardiner: Relentless Tipp left Kilkenny searching for answers they simply didn’t have

5 talking points as breathtaking Tipperary take down Cody’s empire


  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: