Skip to content
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies. You can change your settings or learn more here.

Woods among the afternoon starters as The Open arrives at Royal Portrush

The tee times for the first two rounds of this week’s Major in Northern Ireland have been announced.
Jul 15th 2019, 1:39 PM 4,147 0

DARREN CLARKE WILL hit the first shot of The Open at Royal Portrush on Thursday morning, while Tiger Woods will be among the afternoon starters at the fourth and final Major of the year.

Home favourite Clarke, the 2011 Open champion, will be in the first group to tee off at the County Antrim links early on Thursday morning [6.35am], alongside Ireland’s amateur champion James Sugrue and Charley Hoffman of America.

Britain Open Golf Toger Woods during Sunday's practice round at Royal Portrush. Source: AP/PA Images

Pádraig Harrington, playing with Matthew Fitzpatrick and Andrew Putnam, will get his first round underway at 7.30am, while Shane Lowry tees it up alongside Phil Mickelson and Branden Grace at 7.52am. 

Also among the early starters are Graeme McDowell [9.14am] and Rory McIlroy [10.09am], who has been paired for the first two rounds with US Open winner Gary Woodland and Englishman Paul Casey.

Francesco Molinari will begin his defence of the Claret Jug with Australian Adam Scott and American Bryson Dechambeau at 9.58am.

Woods will draw plenty of interest from the sold-out galleries on Thursday afternoon, when he tees off at 3.10pm alongside Matt Wallace and 2018 Masters champion Patrick Reed.

Full list of tee times available here

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Send a tip to the author

Ryan Bailey


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a comment

    cancel reply
    Back to top