This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Monday 25 May, 2020

The Sunday Game pundits name their 2017 Football Team of the Year

Today’s All-Ireland finalists dominate the selection.

ALL-IRELAND FINALISTS Dublin and Mayo dominate The Sunday Game’s football team of the year selection, following today’s memorable decider between the two counties at Croke Park.

000ea5ce-800 (1)

Dublin clinched a third successive All-Ireland crown after seeing off Mayo by a single point at HQ, with Dean Rock landing the winning score deep into stoppage time.

Seven of Jim Gavin’s side are represented in the end-of-season selection, with The Sunday Game panel also announcing James McCarthy as their footballer of the year.

Mayo also have seven players in the team, with Kerry’s Paul Keaney the only representative from outside today’s two teams.

What do you think of the selection? Let us know your team of the year in the comments section below.

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Brendan Maher, Corbett and Callanan hit key scores as their clubs advance to Tipperary semi-finals

5 talking points after Dublin triumph and Mayo miss out in All-Ireland battle

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel