This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 12 °C Thursday 24 October, 2019

Tipp and Cork to meet again after extra-time thriller in Thurles

The Munster rivals played out a pulsating provincial minor semi-final this evening at Semple Stadium.

Michael Purcell with Evan Sheehan Tipperary’s Michael Purcell and Evan Sheehan of Cork battle for possession. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Tipperary 2-18
Cork 1-21


Jackie Cahill reports from Semple Stadium, Thurles

EVAN SHEEHAN NETTED from a last-gasp 20-metre free to salvage a draw for Cork in this evening’s dramatic Electric Ireland Munster minor hurling semi-final at Semple Stadium.

Sheehan struck in the third minute of stoppage time, at the end of extra-time, and the counties will do it all over again at Páirc Uí Rinn on Saturday afternoon for the right to play Clare in the provincial decider on Sunday week, 9 July.

In a game of so many twists and turns, a draw was the right result, as Cork and the Munster and All-Ireland champions couldn’t be separated after some 90 minutes of playing time.

In the second half of normal time, Cork came from six points down to level in the fourth minute of stoppage time, Robert Downey on target.

Tipp then looked to have won it when Jake Morris pointed but that man Downey responded again as the sides finished level at 0-16 to 1-13, Ray McCormack on target with the first-half goal for the hosts.

Darragh Woods hit 1-4 in extra-time for Tipp but Cork had a late kick in them. It was a quite enthralling encounter and while Sheehan had so much to do as he faced five Tipp players on the line, it was perhaps inevitable that he would find the net at the Killinan End.

Evan Sheehan scores a goal to tie the game Evan Sheehan levels the game with a goal for Cork. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Cork had excellent contributions on the night from Brian Turnbull and Daire Connery, as the pair contributed 0-16 between them. Woods was a real tonic for Tipp in extra-time, while skipper Paddy Cadell drove his side forward all through.

Anthony McKelvey top-scored with eight points for the Premier — but also registered six wides over the regulation 60-plus minutes.

Cork had played some good stuff in that first half of regulation time, Turnbull particularly dangerous and causing problems for more than one marker.

But Tipp stuck at it and had Cadell in fine form at midfield, partnered there by Jerome Cahill before he switched to corner back on Turnbull in the 18th minute, and nullified him to a degree.

With less than 10 minutes on the watch, Cork led by 0-4 to 0-2, before Tipp full-forward McKelvey flashed a goal chance across the face of goal and wide.

But with Turnbull threatening almost every time the ball came his way, Cork had the edge and were three points up, 0-7 to 0-4, by the 18th minute.

Craig Moran with Brian Turnbull Cork's Brian Turnbull in pursuit of Tipperary's Craig Moran. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

The visitors would not score again until stoppage time, however, and Tipp hit 1-3 without reply.

Cadell popped over his second point but Cork had a chance to open up the Tipp defence in the 21st minute, the ball going through Liam O’Shea and Craig Hanafin, but fumbled by Sheehan at a critical moment.

A McKelvey free had Tipp back to within a point, 0-6 to 0-7, before McCormack struck for goal.

Conor Bowe, not for the first time, pulled off a terrific catch but McCormack had work to do when he picked up possession. The Borris-Ileigh clubman took off, however, and flashed a shot past Ger Collins from the 14m line.

Cadell added a point and Tipp had turned the game around, leading by 1-7 to 0-7, but Daire Connery added a point for Cork to keep them in touch at the interval.

The second half promised much and really delivered – but there was even better to come later.

Jake Morris celebrates scoring a late point Tipperary's Jake Morris celebrates a late point. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Scorers for Tipperary: Anthony McKelvey 0-8 (7f), Darragh Woods 1-4 (0-2f), Ray McCormack 1-0, Paddy Cadell 0-3, Jake Morris 0-2, Willie Barry 0-1.

Scorers for Cork: Brian Turnbull 0-9 (5f), Daire Connery 0-7 (5f), Evan Sheehan 1-0f, Robert Downey 0-2, Diarmuid Linehan, Liam O’Shea and Declan Hanlon 0-1 each.


1. Eoin Collins (Drom-Inch)

7. Kieran Breen (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams)
3. Michael Feehan (Sean Treacys)
2. Michael Purcell (Thurles Sarsfields)

6. Robbie Quirke (Cappawhite)
5. Craig Morgan (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
8. Bryan O’Mara (Holycross-Ballycahill)

4. Jerome Cahill (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
9. Paddy Cadell (JK Brackens – captain)

10. Conor Bowe (Moyne-Templetouhy)
11. Jake Morris (Nenagh Eire Óg)
12. Ray McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)

22. Niall Hoctor (St Mary’s, Clonmel)
14. Anthony McKelvey (Moycarkey-Borris)
13. Cathal Bourke (Clonoulty-Rossmore)


23. Andrew Ormonde (JK Brackens) for Bourke (37)
17. Kevin McCarthy (Toomevara) for Hoctor (58)
24. Billy Seymour (Kiladangan) for O’Mara (60+1)
19. Darragh Woods (Holycross-Ballycahill) for Ormonde (60+3)
8. O’Mara for Bowe (60)
18. Eoghan Connolly (Cashel King Cormacs) for Quirke (60)
10. Bowe for McKelvey (69)
15. Willie Barry (Cappawhite) for McCormack (74)


1. Ger Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. Conor O’Callaghan (Dromtarriffe)
3. Sean O’Leary-Hayes (Midleton – captain)
4. Eoin Roche (Bride Rovers)

5. Ross Howell (Douglas)
6. James Keating (Kildorrery)
7. Ger Millerick (Fr. O’Neill’s)

8. Daire Connery (Na Piarsaigh)
9. Diarmuid Lenihan (Ballyhooly)

10. Craig Hanafin (Na Piarsaigh)
11. Liam O’Shea (Lisgoold)
12. Brian Roche (Bride Rovers)

13. Evan Sheehan (Na Piarsaigh)
14. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers)
15. Brian Turnbull (Douglas)


19. Aaron Walsh Barry (Carrigtwohill) for Howell (30)
20. Barry Murphy (Castlelyons) for O’Shea (38)
24. Colin O Brien (Liscarroll-Churchtown Gaels) for Hanafin (47)
23. Declan Hanlon (Blarney) for Sheehan (50)
11. O’Shea for Murphy (64)
22. David Jones (Dromina) for O’Brien (70)
13. Sheehan for Roche (77)

‘There’s still plenty of slagging going on between players from different counties on Snapchat’

Cork footballer named in AFL side for first time in almost three years

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next: