Skip to content

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Robbie Kiely: finished with 1-1 (file photo).
Robbie Kiely: finished with 1-1 (file photo).
Image: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Tipp footballers stage brilliant second-half comeback to knock Cavan out

Tipp trailed by six points at the break, but ran out three-point winners in Kingspan Breffni Park.
Jul 8th 2017, 4:20 PM 15,104 17

Tipperary 2-15

Cavan 0-18

KINGSPAN BREFFNI PARK is becoming a lucky ground for Tipperary as they produced a superb second-half fightback to knock hosts Cavan out of the All-Ireland Championship in Round 2B of the qualifiers.

A depleted Tipperary were six points adrift at half time (0-12 to 0-6) after the home side dominated the first half, scoring 11 points from play and playing with greater fluency with Gearoid McKiernan, Cian Mackey and Caoimhin O’Reilly to the fore.

However the second half was completely dominated by Tipperary who generated early momentum by scores from Conor Sweeney, Kevin O’Halloran and Jack Kennedy, who produced a man of the match performance on his championship debut.

A Philip Austin point in the 54th minute brought the sides level before Tipp kicked on, helped by a penalty a minute later by Conor Sweeney after Austin had been pulled down in the square.

Marauding centre back Robbie Kiely cracked home a superb second goal in the 62nd minute as Tipperary surged five points clear but they had to endure some nervy moments late on as they sat back on their lead as Sean Johnston (2), Thomas Galligan and Padraig Faulkner cut the gap to two deep in added time but Diarmuid Foley eased any Tipp nerves with a late point to see them into the next round.

Scorers for Cavan: Gearoid McKiernan 0-3 (1f); Niall McDermott (2f), Tomas Corr, Martin Reilly, Caoimhin O’Reilly, Sean Johnston (1f) 0-2 each; Conor Moynagh, Cian Mackey, Dara McVeety, Thomas Galligan, Padraig Paulkner 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: Conor Sweeney 1-5 (1-0 pen, 0-5f); Robbie Kiely 1-1; Jack Kennedy (2f) 0-3; Kevin O’Halloran (1f) 0-2; Brian Fox, Michael Quinlivan, Philip Austin, Diarmuid Foley 0-1 each.


1. Raymond Galligan

2. Padraig Faulkner
3. Killian Clarke (capt)
4. Jason McLoughlin

5. James McEnroe
6. Niall Murray
7. Conor Moynagh

14. Gearoid McKiernan
9. Tomas Corr

10. Cian Mackey
12. Ciaran Brady
11. Martin Reilly

15. Dara McVeety
8. Liam Buchanan
13. Caoimhin O’Reilly


21. Niall McDermott for Brady (inj, 12)
25. Ryan Connolly for Buchanan (inj, HT)
26. Thomas Galligan for Corr (48)
23. Joe Dillon for McDermott (56)
19. Sean Johnston for O’Reilly (inj, 60)
20. Niall Clerkin for McVeety (BC, 65)


1. Ciaran Kenrick

2. Colm O’Shaughnessy
3. Alan Campbell
4. Emmet Moloney

12. Brian Fox (capt)

5. Bill Maher
6. Robbie Kiely
7. Jimmy Feehan

8. Liam Casey
9. George Hannigan

10. Josh Keane
24. Kevin O’Halloran
15. Jack Kennedy

13. Conor Sweeney
11. Liam Boland


Diarmuid Foley for Boland (23)
Philip Austin for O’Shaughnessy (HT)
Michael Quinlivan for Hannigan (48)
Liam McGrath for O’Halloran (69)
Kieran Bergin for Maher (70+2)

Referee: Fergal Kelly (Longford)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

3 switches to Mayo starting side that will face Clare as Clarke set for 100th game

Send a tip to the author

Shane Brophy


    Back to top