Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 10°C Thursday 15 April 2021

Tipp demolish Dublin in impressive opening league outing

Michael Ryan’s side led the men from the capital from start to finish in Semple Stadium.

Image: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Tipperary 1-23

Dublin 0-12

MICHAEL RYAN’S TIPPERARY spanked Dublin by 14 points in tonight’s Allianz Hurling League Division 1A opener.

Ryan celebrated his first competitive game in charge with a big win as Jason Forde led the way in the scoring stakes with a 1-5 haul.

Tipp are notoriously slow league starters but signalled some early season intent ahead of next Sunday’s visit to Kilkenny.

For Dublin, and their manager Ger Cunningham, this was a setback following Walsh Cup glory as Tipp dictated the terms of engagement in front of 5,105 spectators.

Tipp had the breeze at their backs at a freezing Semple Stadium in the opening half and wasted no time getting down to business.

By half-time, the hosts were 1-9 to 0-3 clear and Forde hit the 13th minute goal, breaking on to loose ball before firing a low strike past Conor Dooley, who had done brilliantly within the first 25 seconds to keep out John McGrath.

A new, direct approach from Tipp was evident but they spoiled much of their good work by registering 10 first-half wides.

Still, Tipp had the scoreboard ticking over with regularity as Dublin struggled to create much.

Paul Ryan, whipped off at half-time, sent a couple of scoreable frees wide while other efforts from teammates dropped short.

Noel McGrath, starting a competitive game for Tipp for the first time since his successful battle with cancer last year, picked off a gorgeous first-half score on a night when his brother John also did well.

Ryan took the chance to run his bench in the second half and John ‘Bubbles’ O’Dwyer picked off three points after coming on, while fellow sub Dylan Fitzelle also put over an eye-catching score.

All in all, a good night for Tipp and their first opening-round win since beating Waterford at the same venue two years ago.

Sweet revenge too for last year’s heavy defeat to Dublin on the opening weekend at Parnell Park and a good way to warm up for next week’s visit to Kilkenny.

Scorers for Tipperary: Jason Forde 1-5, John McGrath 0-7 (5f), Conor Kenny & John O’Dwyer 0-3 each, Pádraic Maher & Noel McGrath 0-2 each, Dylan Fitzelle 0-1.

Scorers for Dublin: David Treacy 0-3f, Niall McMorrow 0-2, Daire Plunkett, Eamon Dillon, David O’Callaghan, Paul Ryan (f), Mark Schutte, Darragh O’Connell & Colm Cronin 0-1 each.


1. Darren Gleeson (Portroe)

2. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill)
3. Tomas Hamill (Moyne Templetuohy)
4. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields)

5. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh – captain)
6. James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane)
7. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)

8. Michael Breen (Ballina)
9. Daire Quinn (Nenagh Éire Óg)

10. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)
11. Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha)
12. Jason Forde (Silvermines)

13. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
14. Conor Kenny (Borris-Ileigh)
15. John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)


23. Dylan Fitzelle (Cashel King Cormacs) for Patrick Maher (47)
21. Joe Gallagher (Kildangan) for Breen (58)
26. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule) for McCormack (58)
20. John Meagher (Loughmore-Castleiney) for B Maher (66)
19. Liam Ryan (Drom & Inch) for Quinn (67)


1. Conor Dooley (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

2. Joey Boland (Na Fianna)
5. Eoghan O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille)
4. Oisín Gough (Cuala)

3. Cian O’Callaghan (Cuala)
6. Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields)
7. Shane Barrett (Na Fianna)

8. Niall McMorrow (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
9. Johnny McCaffrey (Lucan Sarsfields)

10. Daire Plunkett (St Brigid’s)
11. Eamonn Dillon (Nh Fionnbarra)
12. David Treacy (Cuala)

13. Paul Ryan (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
14. David O’Callaghan (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
15. Mark Schutte (Cuala)


21. Colm Cronin (Cuala) for Ryan (h.t.)
20. Darragh O’Connell (Cuala) for Plunkett (48)
23. Oisin O’Rorke (Kilmacud Crokes) for O’Callaghan (59)
22. Fiontán McGibb (Setanta) for McCaffrey (63)

Referee: Colm Lyons (Cork)

About the author:

Read next: