This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Tuesday 20 November, 2018

Tipperary through to first U21 football final after remarkable comeback stuns the Dubs

Tipp outscored the Dubs by 0-11 to 0-5 in the second half in Tullamore.

Tipperary 0-14

Dublin 0-12

TIPPERARY MADE HISTORY as they pulled off a remarkable second-half comeback and dethroned All-Ireland U21 football champions Dublin.

Tipp scored 11 of their 14 points in the second half to stun the Dubs and book their place in the All-Ireland final for the very first time.

Dublin looked to be on course for their second consecutive U21 final after Shane Carty extended their lead to 0-8 to 0-3 just after half time but the Premier County staged a roaring comeback.

The first half belonged to Dessie Farrell’s men though, with Conor McHugh kicking three points to give the reigning champions a 0-7 to 0-3 advantage at the break.

The game began to turn when Josh Keane pointed five minutes into the second half to cut the gap to four. Three more scores followed in the next ten minutes before Cormac Costello hit back for the Dubs to give them a two-point lead.

But Tipperary couldn’t be denied and further scores from Keane, Jason Lonergan and a Kevin O’Halloran brace saw the Munster champions go in front.

Ross Mulcahy and David Byrne swapped scores as the Dubs drew level but Stephen O’Brien engineered a bit of space in front of the posts to put Tiperrary ahead once more in injury time.

The champions couldn’t respond, and one last O’Halloran free saw the Premier men book their place in their first ever All-Ireland final at the U21 age grade.

They will face Tyrone, who beat Roscommon 0-17 to 0-12 in Saturday’s second semi-final.

Scorers for Tipperary: Kevin O’Halloran 0-4 (3f), Josh Keane 0-3 (3f), Steven O’Brien, Colin O’Riordan 0-2 each, Ross Mulcahy, Liam Casey, Jason Lonergan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Dublin: Conor McHugh (1f), Cormac Costello (3f) 0-4 each, Shane Carthy 0-2, Colm Basquel, David Campbell 0-1 each.


1. Lorcan Molloy (St Annes)

2. Martin Cahalane (Cuala)
3. David Byrne (Naomh Olaf)
4. Eoin Murchan (Na Fianna)

5. Eric Lowndes (St Peregrine’s)
6. Conor Mulally (Cuala)
7. Ross McGowan (Kilmacud Crokes)

8. Stephen Cunningham (St Sylvester’s)
9. Shane Carthy (Naomh Mearnóg)

25. Aonghus Farrell (Na Fianna)
11. Andrew Foley (Clontarf)
12. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge-Street)

13. Cormac Costello (Whitehall Colmcille)
14. Conor McHugh (Na Fianna)
15. Colm Basquel (Ballyboden St-Enda’s)


26. Shane Cunningham for Stephen Cunningham (25)
24. Shane Clayton for Foley (45)
17. Eoin Fletcher for Cahalane (49, black card)
Aaron Byrne for Basquel (49)
20. David Campbell for Scully (52)


1. Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan Kilcash)

2. Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials)
3. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule)
4. Colm O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan)

5. Ross Mulcahy (Moyle Rovers)
6. Luke Boland (Moyle Rovers)
7. Bill Maher (Kilsheelan Kilcash)

8. Steven O’Brien (Ballina)
9. Colin O’Riordan (JK Brackens)

10. Jason Lonergan (Clonmel Commercials)
11. Ian Fahey (Clonmel Commercials)
12. Liam Casey (Cahir)

13. Kevin O’Halloran (Portroe)
14. Josh Keane (Golden Kilfeacle)
15. Paul Maher (Kilsheelan Kilcash)


Dean McEnroe for P Maher (59)

This was a lovely gesture in memory of the late Dave Billings

Kildare suffer shock loss and the rest of the day’s Leinster Minor Championship action

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel