Skip to content

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member

Tipperary's O'Dwyer crowned AFLW champion after win with Brisbane Lions

Brisbane Lions defeated Adelaide Crows 38-20 in the final.
Apr 17th 2021, 10:00 AM 33,311 10

TIPPERARY’S ORLA O’DWYER became the second Irish player to win an AFLW Premiership title after helping her Brisbane Lions team to glory today.

aflw-grand-final Brisbane Lions players celebrate. Source: AAP/PA Images

The Lions defeated the Adelaide Crows 38-20 at the Adelaide Oval today before a crowd of 22,934 fans to win their maiden crown.

O’Dwyer had 16 disposals and six tackles in her performance as she joined Clare’s Ailish Considine in the group of Irish players who have enjoyed this success. Considine was part of the defeated Crows side with 11 disposals.

aflw-grand-final Deni Varnhagen of the Crows and Orla O'Dwyer of the Lions compete for the ball. Source: AAP/PA Images

The Crows entered the game chasing a third title after previous wins in 2017 and 2019 but Brisbane atoned for final defeats in 2017 and 2018 (the latter to the Western Bulldogs) to make the breakthrough.

The Lions lost their captain Emma Zielke through injury in the third quarter but still held for a triumph while the Crows had lost their stand-in skipper Angela Foley in the same time frame.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

By half-time the Lions held a five-point lead and they kicked on thereafter with three goals without reply to establish a winning platform.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Send a tip to the author

Fintan O'Toole


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a comment

    cancel reply
    Back to top