This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Tuesday 26 March, 2019

O'Shea names unchanged Tipp team for Sunday's All-Ireland final

The Premier County have kept faith in the starting side that saw off Cork in the semi-finals.

Seamus Callanan will lead from the front again.
Seamus Callanan will lead from the front again.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

TIPPERARY HAVE MADE no changes to their starting team ahead of Sunday’s All-Ireland senior hurling final against Kilkenny at Croke Park.

Manager Eamon O’Shea has kept faith in the side that beat Cork on a scoreline of 2-18 to 1-11 in the last month’s semi-final.

Darren Gleeson, Cathal Barrett, James Barry, Kieran Bergin and John O’Dwyer all play in their first senior All-Ireland final, in a starting team captained by Brendan Maher.

Seamus Callanan will once again lead the Premier County’s attack, hoping to repeat his performance against Cork, when he scored 2-4. Providing support will be O’Dwyer in the half-forward line, who collected six points against the Rebels last time out.

Throw-in at Croke Park on Sunday is 3.30pm.


1. Darren Gleeson (Portroe)

2. Cathal Barrett (HolycrossBallycahill)
3. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
4. Paddy Stapleton (Borris-Ileigh)

5. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh – Captain)
6. James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane)
7. Kieran Bergin (Killenaule)

8. Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch)
9. James Woodlock (Drom & Inch)

10. Gearóid Ryan (Templederry Kenyons)
11. Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha)
12.  John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)

13. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
14. Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch)
15. Lar Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields)

3 key battles that could decide Sunday’s All-Ireland hurling final

8 reasons why Nicky English is a Tipperary hurling legend

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

TheScore Team

Read next: