This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 20 March, 2019


41,353 Views 13 Comments

COULD TIPPERARY CREATE football history tonight and win their first title at this level?

Or would Tyrone claim their first title since 2001? 

We were following all the action from Parnell Park.

Get in touch in the usual ways. Tweet us @The42GAA, send your emails to, find us on Facebook or leave a comment below.

Result: Tyrone 1-11 Tipperary 0-13

Evening all, we’re building up to the 6pm throw-in in Parnell Park with the All-Ireland U21 football crown up for grabs.

It’s a pretty unique pairing with Tipperary appearing in their first ever decider at this level while Tyrone are chasing a first title since 2001.

Here’s how Tipperary will line out.


1. Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan Kilcash)

2. Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials)
3. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule)
4. Colm O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan)

5. Ross Mulcahy (Moyle Rovers)
6. Luke Boland (Moyle Rovers)
7. Bill Maher (Kilsheelan Kilcash)

8. Steven O’Brien (Ballina)
9. Colin O’Riordan Capt. (JK Brackens)

10. Jason Lonergan (Clonmel Commercials)
11. Ian Fahey (Clonmel Commercials)
12. Liam Casey (Cahir)

13. Kevin O’Halloran (Portroe)
14. Josh Keane (Golden Kilfeacle)
15. Paul Maher (Kilsheelan Kilcash)

And here’s how Tyrone will start.


1. Sean Fox (Killyclogher)

2. Ruairí Mullan (Cookstown)
3. Pádraig Hampsey (Coalisland)
4. Michael Cassidy (Ardboe)

5. Ciaran McLaughlin (Omagh)
6. Ruairí Brennan (Trillick)
7. Kieran McGeary (Pomeroy)

8. Frank Burns (Pomeroy)
9. Cathal McShane (Eoghan Roe O’Neill)

10. Conor Meyler (Omagh)
11. Mark Kavanagh (Errigal Ciarán)
12. Matthew Walsh (Dungannon)

13. Lee Brennan (Trillick)
14. Daniel McNulty (Clonoe)
23. Mark Bradley (Killyclogher)

So how did we arrive at this point? Here’s both teams paths to the final.

Munster U21FC
Tipperary 0-15 Clare 0-7

Tipperary 1-15 Cork 3-8

Ulster U21FC
Tyrone 0-17 Fermanagh 0-7

Tyrone 2-12 Armagh 2-8

Tyrone 1-11 Donegal 0-13

All-Ireland U21FC semi-finals
Tipperary 0-14 Dublin 0-12
Tyrone 0-17 Roscommon 0-12

All set for action.


Very wet conditions in Parnell Park, plenty surface water on that pitch.


Tipperary 0-1 Tyrone 0-0
Tipperary get off to a flying start. Colin O’Riordan wins the throw-in and feeds corner-forward Kevin O’Halloran who is fouled. He settles himself and slots the free.


Tyrone win a ’45 but Daniel McNulty tries to take it short to Conor Meyler but the kick is misjudged and the ball rolls wide.


Second wide of the day for Tyrone, Frank Burns off target from distance on this occasion. Tyrone winning all the breaks from kickouts at the moment.


Tipperary 0-2 Tyrone 0-0
But Tipperary have found their range and Ian Fahey picks off a splendid point after good patient build-up play.

Tipperary 0-2 Tyrone 0-1
Tyrone get off the mark, Mark Bradley notching a tidy point.


Tyrone 0-2 Tipperary 0-2
Tyrone draw level, Conor Meyler ties the teams.


Entering the second quarter and the teams still deadlocked at 0-2 apiece.


Tipperary 0-3 Tyrone 0-2
Josh Keane taps over a point to put Tipperary in front after a great defence splitting pass from Jason Lonergan.


Lee Brennan is a big danger man for Tyrone but Colm O’Shaughnessy shepherded him well on that occasion, forcing him to kick under pressure and he chalked up Tyrone’s sixth wide of the day.


Tipperary 0-3 Tyrone 0-3
Mark Bradley, a late inclusion for Ruairi McGlone, certainly making his presence felt. He’s just knocked over his second point of the evening for Tyrone.


Tipperary 0-5 Tyrone 0-3
Tipperary respond impressively. Ian Fahey surges through before laying off to Josh Keane and the Golden-Kilfeacle man finds the target impressively off his left. Then Colin O’Riordan is fouled and O’Halloran has the straightforward task of converting the free.


Tipperary 0-5 Tyrone 0-4
Brave and confident long-range kick from Tyrone corner-back Michael Cassidy. He’s rewarded as the ball splits the posts and Tyrone cut the gap.


Tipperary 0-6 Tyrone 0-4
Tyrone place Tipperary under severe pressure but Tipperary recycle the ball and Bill Maher picks off a fine point.


Yellow card for Tyrone midfielder Cathal McShane after a heavy tackle on Colin O’Riordan.


But that’s a bad miss from the resultant free by Josh Keane for Tipperary.


Those wides totting up for Tyrone. Eight now for Tyrone, McShane the latest culprit.


Tipperary 0-7 Tyrone 0-4
Mistake from Tyrone as they try to work the ball out of defence, Tipperary capitalise and it’s Kevin O’Halloran who sweeps over the point.

Half-time: Tipperary 0-7 Tyrone 0-5
Daniel McNulty knocks over a late point from a free for Tyrone.

Here’s the first-half scorers:

Tipperary: Kevin O’Halloran 0-3 (0-2f), Josh Keane 0-2, Ian Fahey, Bill Maher 0-1 each.

Tyrone: Mark Bradley 0-2, Conor Meyler, Mark Cassidy, Daniel McNulty (0-1f) 0-1 each.

Start of the second-half is delayed.

Delay continues at Parnell Park due to medical treatment for a supporter.

So we’re about to get back underway for the second-half. Ruairi McGlone is on for Tyrone.


Tipperary 0-7 Tyrone 0-6
Lee Brennan slots over an early free for Tyrone.


Tipperary 0-8 Tyrone 0-6
But Tipperary respond with Bill Maher fouled and O’Halloran shows his worth as he flights over the free.


GOAL CHANCE! Tyrone take a free quickly to release Ruairi McGlone but he races through and drives his shot across the goal and wide.


Tipperary 0-8 Tyrone 0-7
Mark Kavanagh cuts the deficit to the minimum with a point for Tyrone. Tipperary have a chance to respond but O’Halloran’s free knocks against the post and goes wide.


Tipperary 0-8 Tyrone 0-8
All square now as Lee Brennan converts a free.


Tipperary 0-9 Tyrone 0-8
Magnificent kick from O’Halloran for Tipperary from a free as he atones for earlier miss.


Tipperary 0-10 Tyrone 0-8
Then O’Halloran is fouled racing through and Keane taps over the resultant free for Tipperary. They go two clear.


Tipperary 0-10 Tyrone 0-9
Daniel McNulty holds his nerve to land a point from a free for Tyrone.


Goal for Tyrone from Cathal McShane!


Tyrone 1-9 Tipperary 0-10
How big could that score be? Mark Kavanagh cuts through the Tipperary defence with a brilliant run and he plays through Cathal McShane who finishes decisively to the net.


Tipperary play a free short from Josh Keane but Liam Casey can’t find the accuracy with the resultant point attempt.


Tyrone 1-9 Tipperary 0-11
Paul Maher is fouled and it’s O’Halloran again who obliges from the resultant free.


Sub: John McGrath back from injury and he’s on for Tipperary for Paul Maher.


Tyrone 1-10 Tipperary 0-11
Back to two between them as Daniel McNulty slots over a point from a free.


O’Halloran off target from a difficult free for Tipperary.


O’Halloran hits another free wide. That could be costly for Tipperary.


Tyrone 1-11 Tipperary 0-11
Mark Kavanagh kicks what could be really important point at the other end for Tyrone.


Tyrone 1-11 Tipperary 0-12
Great long-range point by Colin O’Riordan for Tipperary.


Tyrone 1-11 Tipperary 0-13
Amazing free from O’Riordan from the right wing


Three minutes of injury time left.

Tyrone’s Michael Cassidy sent off.

Tyrone are All-Ireland U21 football champions.

Full-Time: Tyrone 1-11 Tipperary 0-13

Tyrone hold on for victory in a frenetic finale.

That’s all from us, thanks for joining in.

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole