This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Wednesday 19 December, 2018

Callanan back to lead the Tipperary attack while Waterford draft in Kearney at midfield

Throw-in on Sunday in Semple Stadium is 3pm.

Seamus Callanan returns to the Tipperary team to face Waterford.
Seamus Callanan returns to the Tipperary team to face Waterford.

SEAMUS CALLANAN, RONAN Maher and Barry Heffernan are all handed starting places in the Tipperary team to face Waterford on Sunday.

Callanan gets the nod to start at full-forward, Maher is named at centre-back and Heffernan is drafted in at right half-back.

James Barry is unavailable due to injury while Daire Quinn and Conor Kenny both drop to the bench.

Kieran Bergin is also back form injury and he is named amongst the substitutes.

There’s just the one change on the Waterford team as Mikey Kearney starts at midfield in a positional reshuffle with Maurice Shanahan unavailable due to suspension.


1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)

2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
4. Noel Connors (Passage)

5. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
6. Darragh Fives (Tourin)
7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
23. Mikey Kearney (Ballyduff Upper)

10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle) – Captain
11. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
12. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)

13. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan)
14. Jake Dillon (De La Salle)
15. Colin Dunford (Colligan)


1. Darren Gleeson (Portroe)

2. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill)
3. Tomas Hamill (Moyne Templetuohy)
4. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields)

5. Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg)
6. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
7. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)

8. Michael Breen (Ballina)
9. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)

10. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
11. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)
12. Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha)

13. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
14. Seamus Callanan (Drom-Inch)
15. John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)

16. Darragh Mooney – Éire Óg Annacarty
17. Kieran Bergin – Killenaule
18. Andrew Coffey -Nenagh Éire Óg
19. Conor Kenny – Borris-Ileigh
20. Liam McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney
21. Conor O’Brien – Éire Óg Annacarty
22. Niall O’Meara -Kilruane MacDonaghs
23. Daire Quinn – Nenagh Éire Óg
24. Adrian Ryan – Templederry Kenyons
25. Liam Ryan – Drom & Inch
26. Willie Ryan – Clonakenny

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

The big guns are back as Kilkenny make five changes for Sunday’s game against Galway

Dublin hurlers unveil team for Croker showdown as Cork make 6 changes

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel