Skip to content

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Simon Zebo hands off Ugo Monye of the England Saxons to score a late try on Saturday. Ireland Wolfhounds lost 23-17.
Simon Zebo hands off Ugo Monye of the England Saxons to score a late try on Saturday. Ireland Wolfhounds lost 23-17.
Image: ©INPHO/Dan Sheridan

Training Day: Wolfhounds added to Ireland's Six Nations camp

Declan Kidney has announced a 32-man squad for the second week of Ireland’s Six Nations training camp.
Jan 30th 2012, 1:38 PM 753 0

Updated 15.30

WOLFHOUNDS TRY SCORERS David Kearney and Simon Zebo are among nine players who have been added to the Irish training camp ahead of Sunday’s Six Nations opener against Wales.

Declan Kidney gathered an extended 32-man squad in Maynooth this morning, including eight of the players who featured in Saturday’s 23-17 defeat against the England Saxons.

Kearney, Zebo, Eoin O’Malley and Brett Wilkinson are the uncapped players to make the step up to the senior squad while Chris Henry, Denis Hurley, Dan Tuohy and Rhys Ruddock are all included for the second week of the training camp.

Munster back-row Peter O’Mahony, who was one of five uncapped stars invited to join the senior panel last week, has also been retained by Kidney.

But there is no place for Tomás O’Leary, whose fall from international grace now appears to be complete. The scrum-half was overlooked despite making a case for his inclusion with a try after he replaced Isaac Boss as a second-half substitute on Saturday.

James Coughlan, who joined the squad last week as a replacement for the injured Leo Cullen, returns to Munster.

Ireland training squad: Rory Best, Tommy Bowe, Tom Court, Sean Cronin, Gordon D’Arcy, Keith Earls, Stephen Ferris, Cian Healy, Jamie Heaslip, Chris Henry, Denis Hurley, Shane Jennings, Rob Kearney, David Kearney, Fergus McFadden, Conor Murray, Sean O’Brien, Donncha O’Callaghan, Paul O’Connell, Ronan O’Gara, Peter O’Mahony, Eoin O’Malley, Eoin Reddan, Mike Ross, Donnacha Ryan, Rhys Ruddock, Jonathan Sexton, Andrew Trimble, Dan Tuohy, Paddy Wallace, Brett Wilkinson, Simon Zebo.

Armitage dropped from England squad after alleged nightclub assault

As it happened: England Saxons v Ireland Wolfhounds

Send a tip to the author

Niall Kelly


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a comment

    cancel reply
    Back to top