Skip to content
Mohamed Salah tangling with Luke Shaw during last January's Premier League meeting of Liverpool and Manchester United.
Mohamed Salah tangling with Luke Shaw during last January's Premier League meeting of Liverpool and Manchester United.
Image: PA

Twelve clubs unveil plans to launch European Super League

Six English sides, including Manchester United and Liverpool, are involved in the proposed competition.
Apr 18th 2021, 11:38 PM 52,031 142

TWELVE OF EUROPE’S biggest clubs say they plan to launch a breakaway Super League, despite the threat of an international ban for them and their players.

“AC Milan, Arsenal, Atletico Madrid, Chelsea, Barcelona, Inter Milan, Juventus, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Real Madrid and Tottenham Hotspur have come together as founding clubs,” said a statement by the group.

The founding clubs will receive “a one-time payment of the order of €3.5 billion”.

“Three additional clubs will be invited to join them before the inaugural season which will start as soon as possible,” added the organisers.

Uefa said earlier that players from the 12 clubs faced international exile and described it as “a cynical project, a project that is founded on the self-interest of a few clubs”.

However, the 12 clubs insisted the new competiton will benefit the game in general.

“By bringing together the world’s greatest clubs and players to play each other throughout the season, the Super League will open a new chapter for European football, ensuring world-class competition and facilities, and increased financial support for the wider football pyramid,” said Joel Glazer, co-chairman of Manchester United and vice-chairman of the Super League. 

If the figure of a €3.5 billion windfall is confirmed, it will represent a greater revenue than currently generated by Uefa for all of its club competitions — Champions League, Europa League and European Super Cup — which generated €3.2 billion in TV revenue in 2018-2019.

According to the promoters, the Super League would operate in the form of a regular season between 20 clubs.

The 15 founders will automatically qualify each year and the other five will be drawn from invitations “through a system based on their performance from the previous season”.

At the end of this first phase starting in August, end-of-season play-offs would be organised until May to award the trophy. Games will be staged in midweek.

Format: Two groups of 10 clubs; top three in each group qualify for quarter-finals, play-offs between fourth and fifth-placed teams for final last-eight spots.

The announcement came just hours before Uefa meets in Switzerland to announce its own reforms to the Champions League, with an expansion to 36 teams from 32 and two ‘wildcard’ slots expected to be among the plans. There would be a minimum of 10 games for each team.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

The Super League said they hoped to work with Uefa and Fifa to avoid a civil war in the sport.

“Going forward, the Founding Clubs look forward to holding discussions with Uefa and Fifa to work together in partnership to deliver the best outcomes for the new League and for football as a whole,” they said.

Florentino Perez, the president of Real Madrid and the chairman of the Super League, also insisted that the game as a whole will benefit.

“We will help football at every level and take it to its rightful place in the world,” he said. “Football is the only global sport in the world with more than four billion fans and our responsibility as big clubs is to respond to their desires.” 

© – AFP, 2021

Send a tip to the author



This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a comment

    cancel reply
    Back to top