This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Thursday 13 December, 2018

Tyrone complete Dr McKenna Cup three-in-a-row with final win over Cavan

Plunkett Kane hit the only goal of the game for Mickey Harte’s side.

Tyrone's Ronan McNabb with Cavan's Michael Argue.
Tyrone's Ronan McNabb with Cavan's Michael Argue.
Image: ©INPHO/Presseye/Jonathan Porter

Tyrone 1-15
Cavan 0-11

TYRONE COMPLETED A three-in-a-row in the Dr McKenna Cup with victory in tonight’s final against Cavan at the Athletic Grounds.

Cavan started brilliantly with Martin Dunne and Eugene Keating helping them lead 0-3 to 0-0 by the 11th minute and they had gone 0-8 to 0-4 in front by the 34th minute.

Yet they were rocked as Tyrone drew level at the interval with Plunkett Kane firing to the net moments after Niall Morgan converted a long-range free.

In the second-half Tyrone took over with Kyle Coney and Paddy McNeice cutting loose in attack. They took the lead through McNeice in the 47th minute and never looked back.

Cavan kept in touch through Cian Mackey and his 62nd minute point left them 1-12 to 0-11 adrift. But Tyrone closed out the game successfully as they reeled off the last three points of the game through substitute Ciaran McGinley, Coney and McNeice.

Scorers for Tyrone: Kyle Coney 0-5 (0-2f), Niall Morgan (0-3f), Paddy McNeice 0-3 each, Plunkett Kane 1-0, Sean Cavanagh, Niall McKenna, Mark Donnelly, Ciaran McGinley 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cavan: Martin Dunne 0-4 (0-2f), Eugene Keating, Cian Mackey 0-3 each, David Givney 0-1.

TYRONE: Niall Morgan; PJ Quinn, Danny McBride, Ryan McKenna; Ronan McNabb, Dermot Carlin, Tiernan McCann; Niall McKenna, Sean Cavanagh; PJ Lavery, Colm Cavanagh, Plunkett Kane; Paddy McNeice, Mark Donnelly, Kyle Coney.

CAVAN: Alan O’Mara; Josh Hayes, Rory Dunne, Killian Brady; Damien Barkey, Jason McLoughlin, James McEnroe; Declan McKiernan, Damien O’Reilly; Martin Reilly, Niall McDermott, Michael Argue; Cian Mackey, Martin Dunne, Eugene Keating.

Referee: Martin McNally (Monaghan)

Opening wins for Laois and Offaly in the Leinster U21FC as Longford draw with Westmeath

Podge Collins ready for Fitzgibbon showdown against his Clare teammates – and Davy Fitz

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel