Skip to content
UCC: back in the last four.
UCC: back in the last four.
Image: ©INPHO/James Crombie

UCC stay on track for Fitzgibbon Cup three-in-a-row

The champions saw off UCD at the Mardyke this afternoon.
Feb 18th 2014, 5:37 PM 14,453 8

UCC 1-20

UCD 1-15

UNIVERSITY COLLEGE CORK’S quest for three-in-a-row in the Fitzgibbon Cup remains on course after they showed great character to see off UCD at the Mardyke today.

Four minutes into the second half, the visitors led by 1-11 to 0-9 and seemed set for a trip to Belfast for the finals weekend, but UCC, forced to dig deep into their reservoirs of resolve, upped their game considerably.

While Limerick’s Willie Griffin was in outstanding form throughout, the turnaround was effected by captain James Barry making his presence felt and goalkeeper Darren McCarthy making two fine saves, from Walter Walsh and John Power.

Though Barry’s goal, to put UCC 1-15 to 1-12 in front after they battled back level, was a fluke, dropped over the line by goalkeeper Billy Leydon, the captain was involved in four consecutive points from wing-back.

With the lead, Eddie Enright’s side were not going to be denied, with Alan Cadogan and sub Séamus Harnedy among the points.

Things had been far different in the first half, as UCC – forced to line out without the injured Conor Lehane – laboured and were pegged back the pressure and physical presence of UCD.

Walsh and Power both shone for UCD while Jack Guiney’s frees kept them motoring. Just before half-time, Patrick Murphy’s goal meant that the visitors led by 1-9 to 0-8 at the interval, but they would eventually be reeled in.

Scorers for UCC: Willie Griffin 0-11 (0-8f), James Barry 1-1, Alan Cadogan 0-3, Dan McCormack 0-2, Barry Lawton, Séamus Harnedy 0-1 each.

Scorers for UCD: Jack Guiney 0-8 (0-7f), Patrick Murphy 1-2, Cillian Buckley, Walter Walsh 0-2 each, Domhnall Fox 0-1.

UCC (Cork unless stated): Darren McCarthy; Stephen Maher (Tipperary), David Glynn (Kilkenny), Patrick O’Sullivan; James Barry (Tipperary), Paudie Prendergast (Waterford), Cormac Murphy; Brian Murray, Daniel Roche; Robert O’Shea, Dan McCormack (Tipperary), Jamie Barron (Waterford); Alan Cadogan, Barry Lawton, Willie Griffin (Limerick).

Subs: Shane O’Donnell (Clare) for Cadogan (14-16, blood), Colm Spillane for Murphy (35), O’Donnell for Roche (42), Séamus Harnedy for Barron (47).

UCD (Kilkenny unless stated): Billy Leydon; Barry Coughlan (Waterford), Willie Phelan, James Gannon; Joe Lyng, Matthew O’Hanlon (Wexford), William Egan (Cork); Cathal Keane (Galway), Cillian Buckley; Walter Walsh, Patrick Murphy, John Power; Domhnall Fox (Galway), Jack Guiney (Wexford), David Treacy (Dublin).

Subs: Conor O’Shea for Fox (50), Jack McDowell for Gannon (58), Michael Vaughan (Clare) for Keane (60).

Referee: Alan Kelly (Galway).

Mahony points the way as Waterford IT see off DIT to reach Fitzgibbon Cup last-four

Send a tip to the author

Denis Hurley


    Back to top