Dublin: 10°C Monday 21 June 2021

Ulster make light work of Treviso to move into second place with bonus-point win

The hosts ran in six tries to leapfrog Leinster and Munster, for now.

Craig Gilroy scored two tries on his 100th appearance for Ulster.
Craig Gilroy scored two tries on his 100th appearance for Ulster.

Ulster 43

Treviso 3

ULSTER EASED THEIR way back into Guinness Pro12 action with a commanding 43-3 bonus-point victory over Treviso at Ravenhill on Friday evening.

Five second-half tries, including one from Craig Gilroy who won his 100th cap for the province, ensured the hosts’ dominance was converted into points as Ulster moved into second place in the standings ahead of the rest of the weekend’s action.

The Italian visitors withstood the early pressure before Ruan Pienaar’s 18th minute penalty opened the scoring and Mike Allen crossed the line shortly after to set Ulster on their way.

It wasn’t all plain sailing from there, however, as Treviso frustrated the 15,000 home fans inside Ravenhill with dogged defence. Ulster’s next score came in the form of a penalty try and that opened the floodgates.

Stuart McCloskey, Andrew Warwick and Gilroy all touched down to add an element of gloss to the scoreline.

Ulster move into second place, level on points with leaders Ospreys, with Munster and Leinster in action on Saturday and Sunday respectively.

Ulster scorers:

Tries: Mike Allen, penalty try, Stuart McCloskey, Craig Gilroy (2), Andrew Warwick

Conversions: Ruan Pienaar (5)

Penalties: Ruan Pienaar

Treviso scorers:



Penalties: Joe Carlisle

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Ulster: L Ludik; C Gilroy, D Cave, L Marshall, M Allen, I Humphreys, R Pienaar; C Black, R Herring, W Herbst, L Stevenson, F Van der Merwe, R Wilson (capt), M McComish, N Williams.

Replacements: J Andrew, A Warwick, B Ross, R Diack, C Ross, P Marshall, S McCloskey, P Nelson.

Treviso: J Hayward; A Esposito, E Bacchin, S Christie, L Nitogila, J Carlisle, A Lucchese; M Zanusso, D Giazzon, R Harden, A Pavanello (capt), C Van Zyl, M Swanepoel, D Budd, M Luamanu.

Replacements: A Anae, J Novak, S Manu, T Vallejos, N Cattina, A Pratichetti, J Ambrosini, H Seniloli.

Referee: Ian Davies (Wales)

Thrilling Ireland U20s show potential with superb four-try win over France

We’ll Leave It There So: Scholes slams United, Kearney returns and the rest of the day’s sport

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next: