Dublin: 8°C Thursday 19 May 2022

Leinster champions St Vincent's march on - but they've a local rival up next in Dublin

Mossy Quinn kicked six points as Vins beat Lucan Sarsfields this afternoon.

Mossy Quinn kicked six points, one from play (file photo).
Mossy Quinn kicked six points, one from play (file photo).
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

St Vincent’s 2-21

Lucan Sarsfields 2-11

HOLDERS AND LEINSTER champions St Vincent’s remain an ominous presence in the Dublin senior football championship after a comfortable 10-point quarter-final win at Parnell Park.

The Marino men looked to their old reliables for inspiration with Tomas Quinn contributing six points and midfielder Shane Carthy booting five points from play.

There were some flashes of brilliance from county ace Diarmuid Connolly too who fired three points and wooed the crowd with some excellent deliveries.

Chasing a 28th Dublin title, Vins will now face local rivals Na Fianna in the semi-finals while Ballyboden St Enda’s meet Clontarf in the other final four clash.

Vins had to battle early on though as they conceded a goal to Lucan’s Brendan Gallagher after just 30 seconds.

But it wasn’t long until they were back in control, taking the lead for the first time in the 11th minute when they moved 0-5 to 1-1 clear.

Five points without reply late in the first-half, including a brace of points each for Carthy and Ciaran Dorney, elevated the local side to a 0-12 to 1-6 half-time lead.

Nathan Mullins’ 40th minute goal put Vins 1-14 to 1-7 clear and in the driving seat. It was expertly crafted as Quinn plucked a floated Connolly diagonal pass out of the air, turned his man and played in Mullins for a palmed finish.

Sub Joe Feeney raced clear just moments after his introduction for a second Vins goal in the 48th minute, 2-16 to 1-8.

Vins were 12 clear shortly after though had goalkeeper Michael Savage to credit for a number of excellent saves. O’Shaughnessy eventually got a second Lucan goal five minutes from time when he beat Savage in a one-on-one aerial contest.

Scorers for St Vincent’s: Tomas Quinn 0-6 (0-3f, 0-2 45), Shane Carthy 0-5,
Nathan Mullins and Joe Feeney 1-0 each, Ciaran Dorney and Diarmuid Connolly 0-3 each, Gavin Burke 0-2, Cormac Diamond and Ruairi Trainor 0-1 each.

Scorers for Lucan Sarsfields: Brendan Gallagher 1-3 (0-1f), Stephen O’Shaughnessy 1-1, Emmet O Conghaile 0-3, Sean Newcombe, Philip Greene (0-1 45), Conor Gallagher (0-1f) and Rory Kelly 0-1 each.

St Vincent’s

1. Michael Savage

4. Michael Concarr
3. Jarlath Curley
17. Hugh Gill

5. Brendan Egan
6. Ger Brennan
7. Nathan Mullins

23. Daithi Murphy
9. Shane Carthy


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

10. Gavin Burke
11. Diarmuid Connolly
12. Cormac Diamond

13. Ruairi Trainor
14. Ciaran Dorney
15. Tomas Quinn


21. Kevin Golden for Murphy (42 mins)
24. Joe Feeney for Diamond (46 mins)
22. Adam Baxter for Trainor (49 mins)
18. Craig Wilson for Curley (53 mins)
20. Mark Loftus for Gill (57 mins)
25. Greg Murphy for Burke (60 mins)

Lucan Sarsfields

1. Philip Greene

4. Ciaran McHugh
3. Matthew McCaffrey
2. Owen Ennis

5. Dermot Gallagher
6. Daniel Gallagher
10. Paul Casey

8. Darren Gavin
9. Emmet O Conghaile

11. Sean Newcombe
13. Stephen O’Shaughnessy
7. John McCaffrey

12. Brendan Gallagher
15. Brian Collopy
14. Declan O’Shaughnessy


21. John McCormack for Declan O’Shaughnessy (26 mins)
18. Kevin Fitzgerald for Gavin (40 mins)
20. Conor Gallagher for Dermot Gallagher (47 mins)
17. Sean Cleary for John McCaffrey (50 mins)
26. Rory Kelly for Collopy (56 mins)

Referee: Dave Feeney (Parnells)

Aaron Byrne inspires Na Fianna to Dublin SFC semis berth

About the author:

Paul Keane

Read next: