Skip to content
Waterford's Seamus Prendergast bags a first-half goal.
Waterford's Seamus Prendergast bags a first-half goal.
Image: INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan.

Division 1A HL: Dillon's late point seals victory for Waterford over Clare

The De La Salle youngster ensured the Déise enjoyed a rewarding trip to Ennis this afternoon.
Feb 24th 2013, 4:15 PM 1,191 2

Waterford 2-15
Clare 1-17

Waterford demonstrated there is still life in their challenge despite the loss of big names over the winter as they triumphed against Clare in this afternoon’s Allianz Hurling League clash.

A last-gasp free in injury-time by Jake Dillon clinched victory for the Déise as they enjoyed a rewarding trip to Cusack Park in Ennis for this Division 1A opener.

Bereft of notable figures like John Mullane and Stephen Molumphy, Waterford had been labelled favorites to be relegated from this division by bookmakers yet this victory serves as a huge early boost.

In a tight and absorbing contest, Michael Ryan’s charges just edged clear with youngsters like Dillon and Brian O’Halloran catching the eye with their scoring contributions up front.

Waterford’s Kevin Moran in action against Clare’s John Conlon. INPHO/Lorraine O’Sullivan

Dillon fired the ball to the net in the 19th minute which helped Waterford lead by 2-3 to 0-3 after the experienced Seamus Prendergast had charged through for a goal three minutes previously.

However Clare, back in Division 1A after securing promotion last year, battled back well and only trailed by 2-5 to 1-7 at the interval thanks to a goal from their exciting youngster Tony Kelly and the measured point-taking of Colin Ryan.

The second-half saw the two teams swap the advantage on several occasions with the teams tied at 2-12 to 1-15 in the finale. The closing stages were condensed into a scoring battle between Dillon and Kelly but it was the Waterford man’s trio of points that proved crucial as his side claimed the honours.

Scorers for Waterford: Jake Dillon 1-5 (0-3f), Seamus Prendergast 1-1, Brian O’Halloran 0-4, Pauric Mahony 0-3 (0-3f), Darragh Fives, Brian O’Sullivan 0-1 each.
Scorers for Clare:
Colin Ryan 0-9 (0-5f, 0-1 ’65), Tony Kelly 1-4, Seadna Morey 0-2, Fergal Lynch, Shane O’Donnell 0-1 each

WATERFORD: Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner); Shane Fives (Carrigtwohill), Stephen Daniels (De La Salle), Noel Connors (Passage); Jamie Nagle (Dungarvan), Michael Walsh (Stradbally), Kevin Moran (De La Salle); Shane O’Sullivan (Ballygunner), Dean Twomey (De La Salle); Brian O’Halloran (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg), Seamus Prendergast (Ardmore), Jake Dillon (De La Salle); Gavin O’Brien (Roanmore), Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner), Brian O’Sullivan (Ballygunner).

Subs: Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater) for O’Brien, Ray Barry (Lismore) for Mahony.


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

CLARE: Patrick Kelly (Inagh-Kilnamona); Domhnall O’Donovan (Clonlara), James McInerney (Newmarket-on-Fergus), David McInerney (Tulla); Brendan Bugler (Whitegate), Pat Donnellan (O’Callaghan Mills). Pat O’Connor (Tubber); Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge), Colin Ryan (Newmarket-on-Fergus); Fergal Lynch (Clooney-Quin), Tony Kelly (Ballyea), Enda Barrett (Newmarket-on-Fergus); John Conlon (Clonlara), Shane O’Donnell (Eire Óg, Ennis), Padraig Collins (Cratloe).

Subs: Colm Galvin (Clonlara) for Barrett, Nicky O’Connell (Clonlara) for O’Connor, Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones) for Collins, Sean Collins (Cratloe) for Lynch, Jonathan Clancy (Clarecastle) for Cunningham (inj).

Referee: John Sexton (Cork)

Division 1A HL: Cork comfortable winners against Tipperary

McGrath injury worry for Tipperary

Subs: Colm Galvin (Clonlara) for Barrett, Nicky O’Connell (Clonlara) for O’Connor, Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones) for Collins, Sean Collins (Cratloe) for Lynch, Jonathan Clancy (Clarecastle) for Cunningham (inj)

Send a tip to the author

Fintan O'Toole


    Back to top